Skip to main content

HI,

Let me start off by saying I'm not a pro. I bought an EMU 1820 used for the purpose of doing hobbyist recording and sound editing and some production. I run it on a windows XP box and as far as I know it's worked fine for the two years I've had it. Except that I never really tried recording an external source before, only playback from the wave pc channel. I do have some technical understanding, but I have been struggling with the EMU a bit.

I have an extensive vinyl collection I want to preserve and 'clean up', as well as recordings on a minidisc. I tried plugging my minidisc player into the phono line input of my dock, and then created an input strip on the patchmix DSP console for the input. I added a peak meter and there's simply no signal being reported by the meter when I play the minidisc player... I verified that there's something coming out from the player, I tried creating a strip multiple times, no sound.

without creating any sends, I figure there should still be a signal coming in and being reported by the peak meter, no? I'm not sure whether I did something wrong in patchmix or my dock is defective...

Topic Tags

Comments

Kapt.Krunch Sun, 03/14/2010 - 04:19

Yeah, don't use "Phono" inputs for anything other than a turntable. In the first place, a "Line Level" signal will overdrive it. In the secong place, Phone inputs have RIAA EQ built in, and will make anything other than a turntable sound bad.

Apparently, the Phono inputs on that EMU share Inputs 2. If anything is plugged into Inputs 2, it disconnects the Phono inputs.

Plug your turntable into the Phono inputs, make sure nothing is plugged into Inputs 2, set up your software, and then see what happens.

Plug your Minidisk into a different set of inputs, and see if it plays.

Kapt.Krunch

anonymous Sun, 03/14/2010 - 09:47