Skip to main content

Hello
I need help recording music at my church. I am fairly new to this and am trying to get a clear feed to record a Music CD with the equipment that we have now. Currently we are using a Fender 4216 Proffesional Mixer. Right now all audio is sent to our computer via the headphone jack on the front. When recording the music is not very clear and has a constant humming noise. There are several empty connections on the back that accept either a 1/4" Jack or 3-prong mic cord. What is the best way to record music through this mixer to a computer while trying to keep the cost down? Any and all help with this would be very much appreciated! I attached a link below to a site that has pictures of this mixer.
Sincerely
Daniel

sekaimon.com/i220706982457

Topic Tags

Comments

Boswell Tue, 02/08/2011 - 04:14

The problem may well be in the "sent to our computer" part of your post. Do you have an external audio interface for the computer, or are you using the input of the internal sound card? If it's the sound card, there's the source of most of your problems at this level.

If you are happy to go on recording the stereo output of the mixer (as opposed to recording all channels separately and mixing them to stereo later), you should consider getting an external 2-channel audio interface. The type that plugs into a USB port on the computer is adequate for this application. There are many available at this level with little difference in sound quality between them (all are better than an internal soundcard), and something under $200 such as the Presonus AudioBox USB or the Focusrite Saffire 6 USB would work adequately.