Skip to main content

I am very new to DAW.

I know this might start a flamewar, but I like the rack cause it uses Pro Tools (more classes/books/videos), but I like Fireface since I hear that it might have better AD/DA.

Does fireface have that much of a better AD/DA?

The main reason for my needs is to record my wife's, and I need to have the best converter for the money. I dont need 8 ins, or 4 in, just 1 is enough for me. So I'm looking for a solution (1000-1500$) range and wanted to see what you guys/gals think

Thanks.

Topic Tags

Comments

Jeemy Mon, 02/13/2006 - 09:27

Yo Mayzar,

How many wife's do you have?? You dog.

Its my opinion the Fireface is a better option, but not cos of the converters, which I think are as good if not better, you just get so much more....

The pres are perfectly acceptable as extras, I think the Digi pres might be a bit better (same as the Emus/HD? anyone?), but the fact you get up to 56 ins and outs, the steadyclock, adat, lightpipe, and the fact you can match a whole bundle of preamps to it - it just gives you so much, its a control centre forever.

I haven't compared it head-to-head with the Digi002 my 2nd engineer uses most of the time, but I'd say for flexibility, its a winner.

For the A/Ds if thats all you are concerned about, Spy is right, both are overkill, stay away from Digi and get a really good single or 2-channel A/D unit. I think Apogee have one thats in budget. I think its called a MiniMe.

For top quality spend same money on less features so your investment in concentrated in what you need. The RME was perfect for me, especially as I can easily cable 8-channel units in by lightpipe when I temporarily need more than 10 channels at a time.

anonymous Mon, 02/13/2006 - 14:08

LOL just one wife for now ;P