Skip to main content

Hi folks. It is my first post here. I have been hanging out on other audio engineering forums for many years but this forum looks friendly and non-elitist so I decided to sign up.

I am planning on buying a Miktek MK300. My main mic is an AT4033 which is nice but a little sibilant and lacking high frequencies. There is a signature peak at 5khz and a drop at 10khz. I wanted something a little smoother sounding for vocals and acoustic guitars. I also like the different polar patterns. Does anyone have any experience with this microphone?

• miktek_mk300_front_sm.jpg

Comments

pcrecord Thu, 11/24/2016 - 06:51

Hey welcome Num6 !

What preamp are you using with the 4033 ? They are not among those commonly named as sibilant...
Also how far are you from the mic ?
Did you try to turn it 5-10-15 degrees. Being a bit off-axis often helps.
Could you post a raw track made with it ?

The miktek is said to be a nice mic but I doubt it would be less sibilant for you because it shares the same bump in the 5-10k area (at least on paper)

Boswell Thu, 11/24/2016 - 09:53

At almost the same price as the MK300 is the Rode NT2-A. Because the NT2-A's response is smoother in the higher frequencies than the MK300, it takes EQ better, and a 2-3dB broad cut centered around 7KHz gives an almost flat response to 15KHz when in cardioid pattern.

The MK300 is a nice mic, but if your budget will stretch a little higher, there are many more multi-pattern mics to take a look at before grabbing that one.

numero6 Thu, 11/24/2016 - 12:36

pcrecord, thank you for your welcome! I use a Summit Audio 2ba221 tube preamp into a Focusrite Forte interface. Honestly I do like the 4033 but I just wanted a different flavor mic especially to record guitars (Larrivee OM3, Takamine EF341, Cordoba GK Studio, Various dobros, banjos and Lapsteels).