Skip to main content

OK...so I admit it...I am a guitar player, not a keyboardist! I do have a Yamaha digital piano with a midi setup that I use to control VSTi's. I keep thinking that I need to get a synth or maybe just a synth module (until I can afford the whole new keyboard). I realize that the feel of a synth is different than the weighted keys on a piano, but I feel more comfortable with the piano feel since I have played one since early childhood...OK, enough of the preamble...

I saw an ad for the Roland JV-1010 module for pretty cheap (USD399), and it includes the Roland House collection expansion board as part of a promo. Sounds pretty cheap to me...what can I expect from this thing? Is it decent enough for a guitar player who "thinks" he can play some keys? I realize that it is not a Triton (or I guess in this case, a Fantom), but remember that I am just an amateur when it comes to synths...

It claims 64 note polyphony, and 16-part multitimbral...(I understand the polyphony, but what is the multitimbral part? Different voices simultaneously?).

Comments? Suggestions for another module in the same price range?

I will be using it for some basic pads, and maybe for some basic string/horn patches. I already have the following VSTi's:

B4 (awesome!)
FM7
Plus most of the freebe analog synths (A1, Triangle, CM-101, etc.)

Do I really even need a module? It is hard to play in real-time with VSTi's, and as cheesy as they are, I have no GM sounds either. A real basic synth module is probably a necessity...

Thanks in advance!

(Remember, please be gentle with me!)

Topic Tags

Comments

Nate Tschetter Sat, 08/31/2002 - 08:07

Howdy