Skip to main content

I read a post from a while ago about the 1818vsl and us-1800 . I really loved your insight. (Donny Thompson)

I am buying my 1st pre and looking at the PreSonus 1818vsl, Tascam 16x08 and the tc 2020.

I am using AKG clip mics on the toms, D112 /bass/ sure 57s/snare/sure condensoers for hi hat and over head.

the kit is 8,10,12,14,16,22,14, total of 11 mics all tolled.
I would like to know in your opinion if the 16x08 will be able to push the mics (gain) based on your comment about how 57s need more "boost" from the preamp as compared to some other mics.

I dont want to screw the pooch on my 1st purchase and any input you have is much appreciated.

Rich "the new guy" moses, red bank NJ.

ps I have been playing and recording for over 30 years but this is my 1st foray into digital recording, mostly for youtube,students, sit auditions etc.

Comments

Boswell Tue, 07/04/2017 - 03:33

Rich Moses, post: 451203, member: 50681 wrote: I am buying my 1st pre and looking at the presonus 1818vsl, tascam 16x08 and the tc 2020.

I am using akg clip mics on the toms, d112 /bass/ sure 57s/snare/sure condensers for hi hat and over head.

the kit is 8,10,12,14,16,22,14 , total of 11 mics all tolled.
I would like to know in your opinion if the 16x08 will be able to push the mics (gain) based on your comment about how 57s need more "boost" from the pre amp as compared to some other mics.

I would be a little hesitant about recommending any of those three interfaces primarily for drum kit capture, although I've never used the https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HM9KL1A/?tag=r06fa-20 They would all do a job, with the Presonus probably being the pick of the bunch. It's very hard to give any recommendations of other units to consider without knowing your price limit.

Pre-amp gain is not usually a problem in drum kit recording, even using low-output microphones, but what was your proposed way of capturing all 11 mics using these 8-mic input interfaces?