Skip to main content

Hi.

I have been looking at the Trident S100 console.
I don't have access to it myself so I can't here it live as of now.

I have found a lot about the S100 vs soundtech discussion but no one talks about how it actually sounds. So if any have comments about the sound it would be great.

I have used Series 65 consoles before and really dig the Trident sound. I ofcourse don't except the S100 to sound like the S65 but if it sounds nice in itself I will be happy.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Sat, 04/08/2006 - 12:57

Trident S100 Opinions.

I have owned a Trident S-100 since march of 2004, and I would be happy to tell you my experiences & how I think it rates. I am primarily a live recording engineer with a few home studio credits to my name. As a freelance engineer I have been fortunate enough to work on an amek angela console & westlake/genelec/mackie hr824 speakers and vintech/universal audio/great river mic pres. In the home studio I use a Presonus M80, aphex tubessence, ADAT XT20's and mics ranging from SM81's to a AKG 414 to a Neumann M147.

I purchased the S100 mainly because I wanted 8 pre's for live recording and an analog summing bus. At $2300 I really couldn't find anything else that fit the bill, although I think now there are many option in the summing bus category. After spending years recording with mackie/alesis mixers I really wanted some pre's that were REAL. Pre's that I could listen to a say "now THAT'S a professional recording!" The mackie/alesis/aphex stuff is great for what it is, but for me the tone just wasn't there. Tone to me is what is familiar and recognizable. Even though I had quality amps and instruments and decent mics (MD421 is my fave on guitar cab) my tones just weren't cutting it.