Skip to main content

Hi everyone. I have a E-Mu 1212m card installed in my computer. I am fairly new at recording my music. My question is.. the sound card does not have an XLR connection on it and I am a little confused on what kind of cable is needed for a mic connection. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Mike

Topic Tags

Comments

pr0gr4m Mon, 07/17/2006 - 00:58

I am guessing you are just using the 2 analog inputs. Well you should probably use some sort of mixer or mic preamp between the microphone and the 1212, but if you can't at this point, just get an XLR to 1/4" TRS.

TRS stands for Tip Ring Sleeve. The plug looks similar to a standard instrument (guitar) cable except it has 2 black rings instead of just one.

The reason I say you should use a mixer is because a signal from a microphone is very low...a mixer or preamp boosts that signal to something more usable.

anonymous Mon, 07/17/2006 - 07:18