Skip to main content

I am a drummer and trying to record some decent drum tracks on my laptop using Audacity. I have SM57 mics in each channel and a RCA to 1/4" T cable coming out of the mixer REC OUT and into the mic jack on the laptop. The sounds is pure crap, which makes me think the recording is actually the built-in condenser mic? This is my first attempt at this and I might be out in left field? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peace,
Scott

Comments

Boswell Tue, 05/13/2014 - 15:38

The Stagepas RCA outputs are almost certainly overloading the computer sound card input. You don't give any details of either your mixer or your laptop, but it's likely that it's set up for a microphone input rather than a line level. Some laptops have separate mic and line inputs, some have a high/low level software switch and some only have an input at microphone sensitivity levels. In addition, many microphone input jacks are mono rather than stereo.

However, you should try to avoid using the computer sound card as an audio input device for everything except Skyping and other comms use. One way round the problem is to get an external line-level USB input device. These range from very cheap and poor quality up to more expensive but excellent quality. If you can tell us what sort of price bracket you could go for, we can make some suggestions.

Boswell Wed, 05/14/2014 - 08:01

I can't identify your laptop uniquely from the information you gave, but it seems that most of those 7 series have only a microphone input, not switchable to line level, and that it is almost certainly mono and not stereo.