Skip to main content

Hey, I finally decided to do some mods to my Apex 460, and after looking through the hundreds of forums with the Apex 460 mods, I still have some questions. I'm pretty new to mic modding, so some questions might be on the stupider side, but please help if you can.

First off, I've just ordered a Peluso CEK-12 capsule for the mic. It doesn't mention if it comes with the saddle piece, which I'm guessing it probably doesn't. I'm just wondering if I can use the same saddle from the old capsule of the Apex 460 for the CEK-12 and if it will even fit properly. If not, where can I buy a saddle that will fit. All I can find online is the 34mm saddle and post, but I don't need the post. I just need the saddle if anything.

I've read in many other forums that people recommend to get a 6072a tube for the mic, but don't go into too much detail with brands. Will it really make a difference if I use a Electro Harmonix Gold Pin 12AY7 / 6072A Preamp Tube which I can get for $15 dollars on Ebay compared to a more expensive tube such as a nice GE 6072a that goes for like $60 dollars on Ebay? If there's barely any difference in sound, I would rather get the Electro Harmonix tube to save money, but if the more expensive tube will make a noticeable difference in sound quality, I'm willing to pay extra to get the GE. What would you recommend?

Moving onto output transformers. What will a better transformer such as the Cinemag 2480 do to the mic? What will it do exactly to the sound to make the microphone better?

I've also seen that people mention that the mic has a cathode follower and that some people bypass it. Is the cathode follower something that is hurting the sound quality of the mic? Is it something that I should think about bypassing or is actually a good thing that it's there?

Comments

blaumph2cool Tue, 06/09/2009 - 08:50

I am pretty sure that unless it specifically states that the saddle is included, that it is not.