1. Dear Guest, if you haven't already... enter to WIN Samplitude Pro X4!
    Dismiss Notice

2 audio interfaces plugged in?

Discussion in 'Converters / Interfaces' started by Colin, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Hi Recording O, I'm thinking of miking my drums with my Scarlet 18i8 and having a separate audio interface for my vocals and guitar. Would it hurt to have two interfaces plugged into the computer at once all the time, and switch back and forth? My DAW's are Ableton and/or Logic Pro
    Thank You!
    -Colin
     
  2. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Nope it is painless. On a Mac you can aggregate them, so you don’t have to jump back and forth, disabling one or the other. You can also use both at once.

    Depending on the connectivity of the second interface, and your session sample rate you could use your adat and/or spdif connections to combine the interfaces. This assumes they’re not already being used.

    My preference would be for the latter, but both options are perfectly acceptable.
     
  3. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Good
     
  4. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Thank you
     
    kmetal likes this.
  5. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Hi, I'm lookin into the Apollo Twin Quad Thunderbolt. Is there any reason why it would be hard for me to aggregate with the Scarlet 18i8 2nd gen?
    I have an iMac running Logic Pro X.
    Gracias.
     
  6. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    I have another question. I only have 1 thunderbolt slot in my iMac. I'm about to use that 1 slot to plug in a extra monitor (screen) so that I can have duel monitors. I am aware that I can get a y splitter thunderbolt or hub. Would that down play the speed or cut off the connectivity to my Apollo Quad? I remember that when I used a USB hub with my Scarlet it would stop working out of no where. Then I eliminated the usb hub, the Scarlett would perform without disconnecting.
    So all, in all, would a thunderbolt hub slow or disrupt the Apollo??

    Thank you guys!
     
  7. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Should be painless.

    As far as i know, TB is designed with daisy chaining of different types of devices in mind. The apollo wont get close to using all the available bandwidth on the TB connection. Usb audio devices like to not only have there own dedicated port, but have nothing else on the same usb bus to the motherboard. Sometimes several ports will be connected to the same data bus on the mobo and cause issue with usb audio.
     
  8. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Once again, your service is greatly appreciated kmetal !
     
    kmetal likes this.
  9. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    I'm pretty sure aggregating devices would mean the slave device(s) would get resampled.
     
  10. Colin

    Colin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    I've decided not to aggregate. I'm going to step up and invest in the UA that has enough I/O for my drums.
     
    kmetal and pcrecord like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice