2 differnt Pres/Mics on 1 sound source. Phase problems etc??

Discussion in 'Preamps / Channel Strips' started by J-3, Jul 22, 2004.

  1. J-3

    J-3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Hey guys as you may have read in a recent post by me I'm trying to do some upgrades in the preamp/mic department. I have to give back the Neve (3405) and Drawmer (1960) 2 channel pre's I've been using. I was thinking about getting the 2 channel Great River BUT was thinking I might be better off to get One Channel of GR and a Royer 121 mic or Tube mic ( K2 for instance). Thing is, I almost always run 2 mics on Elec Amps, Acoustic GTRs, Bass (amp and DI) and Snare Top and Bottom. I'm thinking now that between my TLM 103, various other Dynamics and Condensors I have and a Royer 121 all going thru the Great River Pre I should be able to select the right mic and place it properly and get a great sound with only one mic per instrument. Is it "Ok" if I ended up using say the Royer/Great River on a GTR amp and still put a 57 or TLM thru my Allen and Heath on the same amp for "stereo" or just to add in a little differnt color? Is this bad news? Phase problems etc? Would I be better off just upgrading mics and using the A&H or Getting the 2 channel GR and keep using the TLM as my main mic?
    Thanks for the info
    J
     
  2. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    Bottom line is try it ... if it works, great! There's not really much you can damage by experementing ... just don't plug a speaker level signal into a mic or line input and you should be fine ...
     
  3. Sebatron

    Sebatron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    yeah , pan the signals left/right then occassionally hit the ' mono ' button to see if anything cancels out. 8)
     
  4. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    Phase issues arise more from poor mic placment rather that pre amp topologies ... Sebatron, please correct me if I am wrong but don't all mic pres pass signal at pretty much the same speed ... (the speed of light)???

    I have always thought for a mic pre to create a phase problem the input or output would need to be wired incorrectly.
     

Share This Page