2 little questions about AMPLITUBE & ALTIVERB

Discussion in 'Microphones (live or studio)' started by Alécio Costa - Brazil, Jul 4, 2003.

  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

  1. Alécio Costa - Brazil

    Alécio Costa - Brazil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    2 little questions about Amplitube and ALtiverb

    Hi folks: Yesterday I was trying to install Altiverb and Amplitube on my MIX +/- System ( d24 + mix farm + DSP farm V2).

    a) Maybe I am a moron but... will HTDM plugs run with a mix system at PT 5.1.1/OS 9.2?

    b) My G4 800 QS has 512MB RAM. when I insert Altiverb, it says there is no enough memory!!!!

    c) Lots of errors appared like 7XXX and so. I had to emove all the $*^t from the DAE folder. Sessions were not opening.

    d) The following message appeared concerning Altiverb: " manually remove the 128 stream manager from the extensions folder"..

    e) BTW.. I was really eager to test Amplitube. Is it true it sounds better than Amp farm?

    SO... What am I missing?
    Thanks in advance
    Nice weekend


    __________________
    Eng. Alécio Costa
    Producer/Singer/Musician
     
  2. MisterBlue

    MisterBlue Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Since nobody answered I thought I'd at least acknowledge that there is still someone out here ;) .

    I can't help you with topics a) - d) as I don't own a Mac but I might volunteer an opinion for topic e):
    If I'm not mistaken the Ampfarm plug is based on the Line6 algorithms. As I own a Line6 Pod Pro and have tried the Amplitube VST I would say that the Pod is of higher quality. They are both very usable, mind you, but I still think that Line6 is closer to the real thing. I might need to spend more time with Amplitube but that's my view for now - for what it's worth.

    MisterBlue.
     
  3. Alécio Costa - Brazil

    Alécio Costa - Brazil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Thanks Mr.Blue. Wow, it is hard to find PT TDM guys on here
    but.. we are not alone
     
  4. falkon2

    falkon2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    In related news, PODxt went rackmount last month. I wonder when a software-only version of the algorithms will come out!
     
  5. Alécio Costa - Brazil

    Alécio Costa - Brazil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Maybe the newer version of PT HD Amp Farm shall match XT.
     
  6. MisterBlue

    MisterBlue Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Haven't seen the XT rack in stores but I guess I'd be tempted to trade up if I got a good deal on my Pod 2 rack ... :roll: .

    Also (and I know that this will make a number of people cringe) I have to admit that I kinda like the Behringer V-AMP2. I just picked one up the other day because I needed a cheap guitar thingie for a "headphone only" practice session and I got some surprisingly good guitar tones out of it.
    I hate to say it but I don't think this one is going back to the store. Also, at only $140 it's not too big of an investment ...

    MisterBlue.
     
  7. Alécio Costa - Brazil

    Alécio Costa - Brazil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    yes, some folks here reported that Behringer did it right.
     
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice