Analog Summing + Printing in other computer

Discussion in 'Summing / Mastering consoles' started by Víctor, Oct 1, 2018.

  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

  1. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Question: If you hear the low and high exactly the same going OTB through 2bus+ and Round Trip back to the same DAW... why do it?
     
  2. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    :ROFLMAO:
     
  3. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    I will take a look tomorrow a little look at those links, but i don't think i will read them all because there are many many pages... But... is there something im missing? Main reason is SRC or there is more...? Could you tell me more about it please?

    About 2-Bus+ VS ITB, sorry but i haven't got time for doing that... mixing through analog is Ok, trying to "replicate" the same ITB is not so Ok and it will take me time which for me is gold. If you have good studio monitors and acoustic treatment you will feel the difference of analog vs digital, and if you use headphones (i use the a lot since started listening music when i was young) you will feel it a little bit more. I could send you a mix which was done through the Dangerous, but it have more "colors" because Acustica Audio plugins. Im not here to debate ITB vs OTB btw. Dangerous summing sound is quite transparent but with a feel of width, 3D blablala... anyway is not the same summing 16ch vs 32 vs 48...

    Sorry but i don't understand your question. I have to record the audio... if i don't do it i don't record nothing...? I have only one DAW for the record... Im recording the signal coming from the 2-Bus+. Sorry but i don't understand the question.
     
  4. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    If you are simply summing otb with no additional gear then the same
    Mix could be made in about 5 minutes summing itb.
    I’ve done this many many times to check how both analog processing and converters are sounding. It’s part of calibration and study.

    It’s something anyone summing otb should do.
     
    Namin likes this.
  5. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    I have got all the Acustica Audio "colors" emulating analog gear.

    Its going to take more than 5 minutes trying to replicate the same mix.

    What is the point of this that you want me to do? ITB vs OTB?

    Trying to "glue" ITB mix is going to make me insert some of this plugins in the master bus btw, so is not going to be a serious comparison.

    But maybe i do it if feel good when i build again my setup. I could just route all the aux channels that are doing the summing through the 2-bus+ to the stereo output and thats it? This will be a fair comparison?
     
  6. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Can’t you just route the 16 or 32 sends to your master bus?

    Take any stereo or mono track and pass or sum it otb and itb then listen or null the two.

    You could do this to hear and share what your converters and 2bus is doing in a process .

    That’s how you can learn if you are being fooled or what something is doing so you learn more about processing! Emulation etc.

    This is actually why I use two DAWs as well. But another topic for now.

    To prove or discover a lot about gear I spend a lot of time listening and doing null test, listening to the remainders.

    Never the less... we at RO are always interested in hearing results and openly discussing ways to hear what a product is about.
    How to use it better and to pass the love and knowledge on to our great community.

    I’ve always wanted to try the Dangerous 2bus.
     
  7. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    Yes i could do that with no problem, less than 5 mins btw... but i would have to make the mix with no plugin process in the buses/ aux tracks that are going to the otb summing box... well i will put plugin processing in the individual tracks and no problem.

    I will do it whenever i can, but i will do it for sure. I thought it was more complex than it really is.

    I have to say that im not been fooled with OTB summing, im very very sure of what is doing. I can feel it even more specially with the headphones (pure2 have an insert to plug them) and ive been all my life listening to music with them. I own now Focal Spirit ones since 2 years and i love them.

    Also, after so many years of mixing electronic heavy Kick/bass techno 125 bpm more or less, i know the time that it takes to make a decent mix glued and balanced for having a nice low end nd also a nice high end with a loud rms level. With OTB summing mixing is much easier mixing and you focus more on making music than engineering. All this time spend in ITB to make then a bounce and send all to the sh** btw. I could make a loopback in the pure2 to record the mix and avoid the bounce... but my big dream since many years ago is music with the sound the have clarity, detail, space, depth, 3D, separation, width... because ive heard records with that qualities and i want that in my sound. This was like 5 or 6 years ago, and i dint knew nothing about summing boxes. The point where i am now is a very large story of years and years searching for what ive mentioned. Im not fooled, and ive read so many posts before going to summing... you can't imagine. I dream with OTB summing having nightmares that it was a scam as some/many people say. Large story... remember im a ITB guy from the begging of my days, trying to avoid all the possible costs. Im obsessed with sound, that is my real problem.

    Audiokid, so are you using two DAW for something else apart for the SRC? are you doing some kind of null tests with your mixes printing in the same DAW and doing it in two...?
     
    audiokid likes this.
  8. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Veryfun to have you here and so inspired to improve your mixes!

    Yes, its in all my history post. I am no longer working with music but I enjoy being the admin here and reading what everyone is doing.
     
    Namin likes this.
  9. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    Where could it read that history post?
     
  10. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    Ok i understand you wrong :)
     
  11. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    Btw, i think i could get the mac of my brother, install there any DAW (Logic Pro X this time) and try to capture there the final mix. I will try after to make a null test with one capture and another.

    The route will be Mac1> DAW> Orion32 (converters)> 2-Bus+> Pure2> DAW Mac2

    So when i finish my mix, i will just put USB of the Pure2 in the Mac2 just for doing the capture... make sense? Am i overlooking something?

    Thanks
     
  12. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Perfect.
     
  13. Víctor

    Víctor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Madrid
    :D Cool! So all what i need now is another computer to try this.

    Many thanks
     
  14. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
  15. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Nice list of gear. Please feel welcome to talk about something you are excited about?
     
  16. vibrations1951

    vibrations1951 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    hodgdon, me
    Hello again Chris. I've been very busy with life and studio construction but that's another story! Anyway, I'm back at trying to get my rig monitoring fine tuned.

    Here is my signal path:
    Inputs > Lynx 16ch > DAW 1 (Nuendo 4) > lynx stems > Folcrom 16 > pre choices > pure 2 > DAW 2 ( Samplitude) > Pure 2 2bus > capture. I'm using the ST for monitoring.

    Above you suggest the monitoring should access the "conversion location(s)".
    Right now I'm only monitoring the pure 2 out w/o having the DAW 2 set up yet so kind of a pass through.

    With my signal path, where would you suggest I tap monitoring points for the ST? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    My thoughts are a stereo bus from the Lynx before the Folcrom if I can configure this in Nuendo w/o confounding the stem outs, Pre and other analog toys outza's, and Pure 2 out.....
    Thanks so much!
     
    dvdhawk likes this.
  17. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    The best thing with the 2 comp setup is to have multiple point of monitoring. Monitoring DAW 1 and DAW 2 seperatly is the best way to hear the difference before and after mastering... ;)
     
    Namin and vibrations1951 like this.
  18. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    For monitoring the source device (DAW1 in your case), you need the usual in-place multiple track or stem soloing, on a choice of speakers or headphones. There is no mix to monitor at this point.

    Subsequent monitoring points are the stereo analogue mix and the captured mix (a DAC output pair from DAW2).

    I have found that a push-button selection for the monitoring points using auto-release buttons is better than a rotary switch, as you can go rapidly between any pair of monitor points without the possible need to toggle through an intermediate one in the rotary switch case. I bought a simple multiple stereo loudspeaker selector, stripped out the wiring, and re-worked it to have combo XLR/TRS connectors and screened leads internally.
     
    vibrations1951 likes this.
  19. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Sounds like you have an awesome setup now! As Bos points out, fast switching is choice and the ST allows that .
    Beyond what you have for monitoring options, I was able to monitor the analog point from the Dangerous Master outs which helps hear the analog chain as pure as it gets.
    The Folcrom doesn’t have that option quite like it could. If you can figure a way to study your analog section better, that would complete and incredible system.

    Kudos on getting this all together!
     
    Namin, vibrations1951 and pcrecord like this.
  20. vibrations1951

    vibrations1951 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    hodgdon, me
    For sure! I must say that I see the capture from DAW 2 more as additional mixing rather than a "mastered" mix. I don't intend to represent this capture as mastered and will leave that up to the client to decide. I just really enjoy the use of the Box 2 (Pure 2 & Samplitude) for capture and further processing of the analog pass between "boxes" where I can use different analog pre flavors, my 2 LA2 and analog FX/processing units in the future.
    Thanks for replying PC!
     
    Namin, dvdhawk and audiokid like this.
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice