complete newb needs help bad, no playback sound in Protools 8 LE. HELP

Discussion in 'Mixing & Song Critique' started by big_daddy234, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Hey guys....at this point i have just micd my guitar amp and i am able to record tracks and on to the hardrive. When i play them back i cant hear anything.
    Im useing a Mbox2... i dont have any monitors hooked up, do i need them in order to hear anything? i just have the usb cable going from the mbox to the computer... i thought i would still be able to hear playback threw my computer speakers since the audio IS on my harddrive?
    When i go to set the output device all i see is bus 1 bus 2 stereo etc etc... i was hoping there would be a output that said USB but unfortunetly there isint...any ideas? thanks.
     
  2. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Plug your computer speakers into the MBox headphone amp.
     
  3. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    This, unless you are using a laptop. Then you'll need monitors or headphones plugged into the M-Box output. PT8 only works though its own hardware; it can't access your computer's regular sound card.
     
  4. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    ahh ok , thanks... one other question..... i have saved some sample files I did and there seems to be some hum. the hum increses the higher i crank the channel gain...... does this hum originate from the mic? its a pretty crappy mic that looks like its been dropped a few times. also im not useing a XLR cable im useing a DI input.

    thanks.
     
  5. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Why on earth would you use a DI box/input for a microphone? The MBox has a mic preamp for a reason.
     
  6. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    lol im new ok!....no but seriously i just dont have a XLR to XLR cable...... the cable im using is XLR at the mic end but at the other end its a 1/4 jack...

    Would having a XLR to XLR cable be alot better?
     
  7. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Yes. First because that is the jack designed with a preamp for a microphone. Second, you will need less gain adjustment for the mic because of the first point.

    Now, if the mic itself is generating the hum then that is a problem and if it has been dropped enough (and isn't a Shure SM57/58) then maybe a new mic is in order. But I would start with the proper cable.
     
  8. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    the mic is a CAD 411 thats seen better days.

    Thanks for the info bro.
     
  9. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    My particular cable has XLR at one end and splits into 2 1/4" jacks at the other end. What is this cable designed for?
     
  10. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Splitting a "stereo" (dual mono) XLR output into two channels of speaker amp. Or similar. That is certainly part of the hum problem if not all of it.
     
  11. big_daddy234

    big_daddy234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    O wow.....ok well im def getting a XLR to XLR cable......your the man... thanks again.
     

Share This Page