Connecting an EQ to a microphone pre-amp.

Discussion in 'Microphones & Recording' started by mistercrayle, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. mistercrayle

    mistercrayle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    I have an 8in/8out audio interface. I'm planning on buying a 2 channel microphone pre-amp to spice up 2 channels on the interface. I wanna hook up an equalizer to the pre-amp so it's not just a flat signal. I'd have to go OUT of pre-amp to audio interface IN to activate pre-amp. Do I connect the OUT of the EQ and connect it to the IN of the pre-amp on the back?
     
  2. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Unless this is for live performance I wouldn't muddy things with an eq-especially if it's a cheap eq. For recording purposes a flat signal is exactly what you want. If you need a mic with a little curve in it-and most already have this-then change your vocal mic. Also, most eq plugins are far superior to cheap to middlin' gear available on the market. IMHO YMMV
     
  3. mistercrayle

    mistercrayle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Okay, but how do I hook it up?
     
  4. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Gozouta to gozinta. Gozouta to gozinta.
     
  5. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    If you must do it this way, take the output of the pre-amp into the input of the equalizer, then the output of the equalizer into line inputs on the interface.

    It's not a recommended set-up, as Jack indicated, since once you have applied the EQ it's not easy to cancel it in the DAW and apply a different set.
     
  6. mistercrayle

    mistercrayle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Thanks, as you may think i'm trying to capture a clean, flat signal - i'm not.
    This is for a cartoon
     
  7. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Can't think why you would want all that real gear. Why don't you just draw the waveforms you need?
     
  8. mistercrayle

    mistercrayle Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Is that said with a heavy british accent?
     

Share This Page