crackling sound when recording

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by McCloud94, Dec 29, 2019.

  1. McCloud94

    McCloud94 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Location:
    x
    I use the Zoom H1 plugged into my Macbook with a USB cable and Quicktime to record.

    Normally, it works perfectly and the quality is great.

    But it happened a few times already, that the recording sounds horrible..

    https://voca.ro/eiK8XXt03pQ

    What can be the reason for this?

    It's really bad because I can't hear what's being recorded and if this happens, I need to re-record the whole thing (sometimes 30-40 minutes)
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Assuming you do not hear any crackling if you listen on phones plugged directly into the H1, the problem is almost certainly due to other applications running on the MB taking up too much of the CPU or disk resources.

    I've never used Quicktime for recording, only for replay, so I've never seen whether it shows you a CPU resource usage level while recording. What I would try is to kill as many open tasks as you can (internet access, email etc), and see if that makes any difference.

    One thing you could check is whether you need to update the H1 firmware.
     
    McCloud94 likes this.
  3. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    My first thought is a sync problem.

    Does this ever happen when you record to the H1's onboard media?
     
  4. McCloud94

    McCloud94 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Location:
    x
    hm, this is really interesting. Never thought it would be because of the CPU. Thanks a lot.
     
  5. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    This is one of the rare instances where it's unlikely to be a sampling clock sync problem, as the clock is generated and contained within the H1 device. The crackling is much more likely to be data getting dropped or corrupted because of USB buffering problems.

    If there is an option in the Quicktime sampling setup of increasing the interrupt buffer size, that would be worth trying.

    However, the first thing to find out is whether you hear the problem when listening on phones plugged directly into the H1.
     
    McCloud94 likes this.
  6. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Home Page:
    The sample has a consistent, rhythmic crackle. I've heard things like this when the A/D converter's sample rate could be set independently of the software's sample rate, which I suspect could be done with this setup since the hardware's primary intended use is as a standalone recorder. Unfortunately I'm too lazy to try it with my H5.

    I agree that a buffering problem would also fit the symptoms.
     
    McCloud94 likes this.
  7. dvdhawk

    dvdhawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania, USA
    I once had a USB cable that came with a Sony audio device I owned. It showed no symptoms doing any other job, but when it was connected to a small USB ProTools audio interface I had, it would start fine then gradually start introducing random snaps - then within 30 minutes the snaps became constant and from then on the waveform on the DAW looked like a brickwall recording.

    FWIW
     
    McCloud94 likes this.
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice