Cubase 8.5 project in Cubase 10

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jamie Lofts, Oct 17, 2019.

  1. jamie Lofts

    jamie Lofts L plates are always on for a musician. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Location:
    Barnsley
    I ended up formatting my pc (unrelated and planned) and I decided since I upgraded my Cubase Artist 8.5 to Artist 10 I decided would just install 10 rather than have them both on. I have about 35 projects on 8.5 and they worked perfectly fine even after upgrading to 10 (most likely still opening in 8.5). After recording some new stuff using 10 I went back to my old projects only to find they are not aligned to the grids. Example....I use Addictive drums 2 and just drag and drop the loops but my old projects don't line up inside the grid. First loop starts and finishes 3/4 before the grid and so on and so on. In Cubase 10 a loop is dragged and it fits perfectly and is copied and pasted perfectly just like it did when I was using 8.5 originally. Am I right in thinking that projects recorded in 8.5 do not match up in 10? I emailed Steinberg over a week ago with no reply and if they don't match up, it explains why they haven't bothered to reply. Should I reinstall 8.5 with 10? Anyone else had this issue?
     
  2. jamie Lofts

    jamie Lofts L plates are always on for a musician. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Location:
    Barnsley
    For anyone wondering about this in the future, I finally received an email from them.....

    "Cubase 10: Older Project and MixConsole window layouts will be discarded
    Due to technical changes, unfortunately, Cubase 10 cannot inherit layout settings for the Project and MixConsole window made with previous Cubase versions.

    Therefore, both Project and MixConsole window will open with a default configuration. For example, this affects the visibility of Zones and Tabs as well as width and height of Zones.

    Projects saved with versions prior to Cubase 10 will be opened with a default window layout. The original window layout saved with the project will be discarded.

    The status of Zones including selected Tabs is being stored whenever a project is being closed or saved. Next time a new empty project is being created or a project is being opened, the last applied layout settings are being used.

    As a rule of thumb: The Zone setup used recently in Cubase 10 is the one that will be restored".
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  3. paulears

    paulears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Location:
    Lowestoft - UK
    Home Page:
    I'm confused? I work with old projects all the time and while the screen layouts load differently, none of my tracks fail to play properly. I dont use loops however, just plain old ordinary start to finish tracks. Is it just addictive that fails to load accurately? I've had all sorts of screen changes like narrow or wider tracks and new and unseen mix window items. Maybe an occasional 5:1 planner, things like that but all cpr files load musically accurately for me. I get the usual errors when it tries to load old vstis no longer there. Clearly I used hypersonic quite a bit and that's long gone but I can usually fix it.
     
  4. jamie Lofts

    jamie Lofts L plates are always on for a musician. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Location:
    Barnsley
    I remember the chat we once had and you said that 8.5 sometimes loads up instead of 10. This is because you upgraded just like I did and left 8.5 on. That means you are still using the 8.5 even though you loaded a project up in 10. Because I formatted and just installed 10, it means any project I open will use 10 only. 10 uses a different grid form to 8.5 which Steinberg have mentioned. So the only thing I can do is use 8.5 on its own and 10 for new recordings because 8.5 projects are using 10s grid when I open it up in 10. Simply put.... Steinberg messed up and took almost 2 weeks to reply because they knew they didn't have a solution.
     
  5. jamie Lofts

    jamie Lofts L plates are always on for a musician. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Location:
    Barnsley
    "Cubase 10: Older Project and MixConsole window layouts will be discarded
    Due to technical changes, unfortunately, Cubase 10 cannot inherit layout settings for the Project and MixConsole window made with previous Cubase versions".

    That is direct from the horses mouth.
     
  6. paulears

    paulears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Location:
    Lowestoft - UK
    Home Page:
    Yep = I remember, but most projects open in 10. I just sometimes see windows I had never seen before - mix windows a good example aqs I only ever use one of them, so maybe it opens one new to me. Nothing though has ever opened with tracks slipped in time - but I don't have any loop based projects to open. I can imagine your frustration though.

    Can you actually fix them manually, or is that crazily longwinded?
     
  7. jamie Lofts

    jamie Lofts L plates are always on for a musician. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Location:
    Barnsley

    Hopefully someone who is thinking about upgrading may find all this helpful. I do have a solution and I understand what Cubase 10 is doing to my projects. I'm sure like most people they start off with a drum pattern and copy and paste it (drum pattern/loop fits perfectly into the grid and may cover one block or more but always starts and finishes on the line of the grid) obviously guitars and what not are recorded over the top and everything is fine. Now if like most people you delete the first drum part to either start with a drum intro or ambient sound, you will find a small gap between the starting point and when the drums kick in. whatever is recorded in that small gap (guitar coming in keys etc) That will now get snapped to the start of the project in Cubase 10 which takes the drums slightly off the grid. Hopefully this all makes sense.

    SOLUTION:
    Highlight everything in your project and move it to the next starting point in the grid making sure the drums are lined up. Everything else should be like it was. Now this is great but anyone like myself with lots of projects, it will take time.
     
    Kurt Foster likes this.
  8. paulears

    paulears Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Location:
    Lowestoft - UK
    Home Page:
    That's a useful workaround Jamie! glad you sorted it.
     
    jamie Lofts likes this.
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice