DIGIi002R to laptop without firewire?

Discussion in 'Computing' started by link0126, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. link0126

    link0126 Guest

    Hey guys,

    I have a laptop without firewire ports. It has 3 USB 2.0 ports, a serial port and an ethernet port. I have been trying to figure out if it would be possible to use my digi002r with this computer in someway for a live mult-track recording using REAPER.

    The Digi has s/pdif and optical output in addition to the firewire. I am open to buying buying adaptors/hubs or anything else that may be possible. The cheaper the better though.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. niclaus

    niclaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Paris, France
    I heard that one can buy firewire to USB connectors.
    I don't know if that would work but it's worth looking into it...
     
  3. bouldersound

    bouldersound Real guitars are for old people. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    How about a PCMCIA Firewire card?
     
  4. dvdhawk

    dvdhawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania, USA
    I have a PCMCIA card with 2 Firewire 400 ports, and another card with 2 Firewire 800 ports. Both work like a charm and each cost under $30. You'd only need one, if you have a PCMCIA slot.

    But I'm more concerned whether you'll be able to use the Digi hardware into Reaper?
     
  5. link0126

    link0126 Guest

    Yes, you can use the 002R with Reaper works fine. But I don't have a PCI card slot, unfortunately.
     
  6. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Don't go the USB-FireWire adaptor route - that's doomed to fail. All you need for your laptop is a PC card (not PCI) that has at least one FireWire 400 port on it. These cards have been through many generations, and you don't say how old the laptop is, so the actual type may be PCMCIA, CardBus, ExpressCard or one of the other variants. You need the correct card type for your computer, but try to get one that uses the Texas Instruments (TI) FireWire chips.
     
  7. niclaus

    niclaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Sorry, then...
     

Share This Page