Dumb Questions

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Kurt Foster, Nov 7, 2002.

  1. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    OPUS or anyone else who can help,
    Here is another stupid question. I'm trying to learn this software, Cubase VST. When I bring it up on the screen, if I try to close the window, so I can look at the pdf getting into details (different window) when I click on the toolbar icon to bring Cubase back up the computer reboots /starts. ??? Same thing happens with the manual. What's up? Fats
     
  2. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Oh...didn't you know about that feature?!! lol
    J/K
    Ok, we need to know what is happening so we need you to do this...go to your system properties
    Right click on My Computer>Properties>Advanced Tab>Start Up and Recovery Button>Uncheck Automatically Restart.
    Now go ahead and do the test and see what error it brings up.
    Once we know this we can possibly determine the fault at stake here
    Opus
     
  3. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    Opus,
    There is no start up recovery tab.... I forgot to mention it's XP Pro? Fats
     
  4. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    I got the start up recovery tab and shut it off . When I tried it again it rebooted and shows a message bad_pool_caller. Wazzup? fats
     
  5. Tommy P.

    Tommy P. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Its what the neighbors say behind your back when you forget to add chlorine to the water filter ;)
    Do you have the latest patches for Cubase installed?
     
  6. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Hmmmm....typically a bad pool caller is from an update of some sort. When you got the system back from the computer guys did they update some software or did you upgrade something yourself?
    Most of what I see from that is do to an upgrade from Windows 2000 or some of the XP upgrades from the Windows updater site.
    Anything of that done?
    If so uninstall them...also try uninstalling Adobe Acrobat reader.
    Opus
     
  7. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    Opus,
    Thanks, I'll call Pat (Positronic) tomorrow and ask about updates. I can't uninstall the Reader because half of the owners manual documetation is on it. I'll keep you posted...thanks, Fats
     
Similar Threads
  1. jimistone
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,049
  2. David French
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,426
  3. CasJams
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    959
  4. Exsultavit
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,726
  5. ThirdBird
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,129
Loading...

Share This Page