GT The Brick problem...

Discussion in 'Preamps / Channel Strips' started by JLiRD808, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. JLiRD808

    JLiRD808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
    Home Page:
    I just got this thing setup and my condenser mic plugs in and works properly but I'm having trouble getting any sound when I plug in my guitar or bass into the instrument input.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bwmac

    bwmac Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    need more details please
     
  3. JLiRD808

    JLiRD808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
    Home Page:
    Well my condenser mic works with my brick but my guitar and bass don't seem to.

    What kind of details do u need?
     
  4. bwmac

    bwmac Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    ummm I build flower gardens with bricks so i guess I can't help you, cause I dont have a clue what you are talking about.
     
  5. JLiRD808

    JLiRD808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
    Home Page:
  6. bwmac

    bwmac Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Sorry JLiRD808, I have never seen one before. from the schematic it looks like you have to have the gain turned up and if you still don't get a signal then i would look inside at the ground on those 1/4 ins. the mic input goes through those gains as well so everything from there on must be ok. Make sure you dont have a bad cord, eh LOL, I hate when that happens, LOL. verify guitar and cord on something else, make sure that gain is cranked and from there it st be a bad ground, as my best guess anyway. good luck man and sorry about the misunderstanding
     
  7. moonbaby

    moonbaby Mmmmmm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    jacksonville,fl
    Well, I HAVE seen The Brick, own a couple of them, as do many on this site. You need to check the polarity of the cable you're using, not just the continuity. The Brick is sensitive to this issue. I will assume that you are using the same connection to the mixer/sound card for the instrument that you are using for the mic...right? And for God's sakes DON'T crank the gain on that puppy to test the connection! The Brick has more balls than a Brahma bull !! You can easily blow out a monitor speaker (or your ears with 'phones) doing that. You WILL need more gain than what you set for a condenser, but do it SLOWLY.
     

Share This Page