Has anyone tried PT 11 yet?

Discussion in 'Microphones & Recording' started by kmetal, Aug 28, 2013.

Tags:
  1. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Jw if anyone has tried PT 11. curious to hear some thoughts as to if they improved upon some of the prior weaknesses of the program, w/ they're new audio engine/pluggin format. i'm not in the market at all for a new DAW, just curious about the new PT.
     
  2. mberry593

    mberry593 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    Silver Spring, Maryland
    Home Page:
    No. Although I hear mostly good things. I can't do it until Waves & Antares make their plug-ins 64 bit AAX. I understand that may happen in September. I will be upgrading (now on 10) at that time & will be happy to share my experiences then........but beware, I'm grouchy.
     
  3. hueseph

    hueseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    So far there's a lot of praise for 11. Until UAD drivers go AAX, I won't even consider it. As it is, I'm sticking to Sonar for now. If you have the cash, the new AAE is probably worth it.
     
  4. ZeroArmada

    ZeroArmada Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Waves just announced their 64 bit AAX release today. Should check into that!
     
  5. ZeroArmada

    ZeroArmada Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Pro Tools 11 as a whole is pretty solid (besides the whole 64 bit AAX thing). Really loving the smart plugins. If a track has a blank section with no audio or midi present, then Pro Tools automatically turns off the plugins on that track to save processing power. Still, I'm sticking with 10 for right now and Ableton Live 9.
     
  6. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Well, I'm about to work with 11.. Not mine, I don't own it, but a band that has hired me to mix their latest album is using it.

    My problem isn't necessarily the platform, but the repairs I will be facing on tracks recorded by guys who really don't know what they are doing.

    I'm hoping the platform won't be fighting me as well.
     
  7. hueseph

    hueseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Let us know how you like it. I'm pretty sure you'll love it. It's a huge improvement over the old engine. If only they would change their pricing policy.
     
  8. mberry593

    mberry593 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    Silver Spring, Maryland
    Home Page:
    I had to wait 'till Antares did Auto Tune 64 bit AAX but that is now done & I have been using it for a week now.

    I'll post some more thoughts later but right off I've got to say that the efficiency of the new engine is amazing. Multiple instances of Auto Tune used to be impossible for me with any reasonable buffer size. That problem is gone. I'm running even my toughest previous session at 64 samples now.

    I did have one problem opening old files but I found the solution quickly on the DUC.

    So far, I'm very happy.
     

Share This Page