Help with Static in Audio Loop

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Huntertreat14, Feb 6, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Huntertreat14

    Huntertreat14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Location:
    usa
    I have an MXL 770 Mic that runs over a Roland XLR cable to a Roland Rubix 22 Audio Interface. Pretty much everything in my loop is brand new and Im getting this horrid background noise all the sudden.
    No matter which mic I use I still get the same static.
    Whether I have a mic plugged in or phantom power on or off I get the same static result.
    Can anyone help me figure this out?

     

    Attached Files:

  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    The L and R channels in your clip are very similar but not identical, so does this mean that both channels on the interface exhibit the same behaviour? Is the amplitude of the noise independent of the position of the gain trim controls ("SENS" in Roland-speak)?

    If the answer to these are both "yes", I suspect that the Rubix 22 has developed a fault such as an internal dry joint. Since you say it is brand new, I would return it for replacement.
     
  3. Huntertreat14

    Huntertreat14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Location:
    usa
    So i went out and bought this Roland because I was using a Scarlett Solo that started doing the exact same thing. I figured it was the Interface or the XLR Cable and replaced both at the same time, still getting the same results. It does not matter which channel I use, which mic I use, etc.
     
  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    How can the noise be "all the sudden" if your previous interface was doing the same thing and so you went out and bought a new one? It's not easy responding to problem descriptions that don't give important information.

    Since you have changed all the audio equipment and the problem is still there, what audio software (DAW), type of computer and version of operating system software are you using?
     
  5. Huntertreat14

    Huntertreat14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Location:
    usa
    So when I bought the Focusrite it worked fine. The other morning I went to start recording and it had this odd buzz in the background, so I went and got the new Roland. Thats what I mean by all the sudden.
    I use Audacity and run an HP Envy with Windows 8.1
     
  6. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    The computers in the HP Envy range include laptops, desktops, tablets and notebooks. What actual model are you using?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice