Hook Studio Speakers to PC, How?

Discussion in 'Monitoring' started by Jarci, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    Hi everyone

    Currently I'm getting some equiment for my home studio. I have:
    1.Cakewalk Music Pack 2002 software
    2.My Laptop computer with 15.3 GB with 224 MB of Ram
    3.Yamaha DGX 505 (MIDI)
    I'm look at Tascam us 122 for my vocals and other sound I can't get from MIDI, 2 mic. My question is what kind of studio speakers should i use to hookup to my PC. I'm not really sure what i'm supposed to be looking for. Also, any other advice will be helful regarding other equment/setup. my budget is slim for now but give any advice will do.
     
  2. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    Left something out: Studio speakers, How would i hook the up to my Laptop
     
  3. RemyRAD

    RemyRAD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    I think you should basically go out and get a pair of Tannoys, KRK, or JBL, Genelec self powered monitors, generally, mostly near Field. Then if your music store doesn't have them, you can get the appropriate adapters from your sound card to your speaker input. Now remember, the speakers will always have to be plugged into it an electrical outlet to function but you will have professional studio monitors.

    Just remember when you are auditioning loudspeakers take your favorite CD with you so that you are listening to something you are intimately familiar with.

    Remy Ann David
     
  4. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    thanx RAD for the info. With recording MIDI should I play all the instrements at the same level/signal?
     
  5. hueseph

    hueseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    With a US122 you will plug your monitors into the outputs on that unit. I would invest in some more ram. I have 1gig. A lot of people go with two gigs of ram. 15Gigs of hard drive space is pretty slim as well. 10 tracks at 10 min is about 1Gig of raw audio depending on bitrate/samplerate(using a rule of 10megs per minute).
     

Share This Page