How to make a synthesizer percussive

Discussion in 'Synths / Samplers & VSTi' started by ClarkJaman, Sep 16, 2013.

Tags:
  1. ClarkJaman

    ClarkJaman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Home Page:
    Hey guys,

    In this video, at 2:36 Dave Pensado turns a keyboard synth that's playing whole notes into a percussive 8th note track that really drives the mix. I am trying to do the same thing for a track I'm working on. I like how he makes it swell in time with the beat. But... Dave doesn't really show HOW he does it and I can't figure out where to start. It looks like he reroutes the synth through some sort of gating track or something. Can someone point me in the right direction? For starters, I'm using Cubase, not protools. But I just need to know WHAT he is doing, and I should be able to figure out HOW to do it.

    Into The Lair #36 - Techniques for Mixing Synthesizers - YouTube

    Thanks in advance,
    -Clark
     
  2. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    He's using a lot of different techniques, using the drums to open and close a gate, compression, EQ, stereo widening, and mostly his ears.

    Do some research on side-chain compression, EQ, and, making space for each instrument.
     
  3. ClarkJaman

    ClarkJaman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Home Page:
    I'm just wondering about the "using the drums to open and close a gate" part. How does he do that?
     
  4. naomi_beats

    naomi_beats Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    You can sidechain the gate so that when the drum sound is triggered it opens the gate and as the sound fades out to a certain set "floor" the gate closes
     
  5. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    If your plugs support side-chaining it's pretty easy to set up, otherwise you have to create the signal pate in your DAW.

    There are several methods and reasons why you would side-chain, Google and YouTube are your friends.

    thumb
     

Share This Page