How's the new Logic platform?

Discussion in 'Mixing' started by Guitarfreak, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. Guitarfreak

    Guitarfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    I've got the chance to upgrade from Logic Express 8 to Logic Express 9. What's the consensus here? Worth it at this point or wait till they get a few more bug fixes? Anybody here use the new one? How are the new features? Flex time work better than time and pitch machine?
     
  2. mixingaudio

    mixingaudio Guest

    The new logic studio is superb its so mach esay to use now
    and the flex time is fantastic.
     
  3. jammster

    jammster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Ki-Chi-Saga, Minnesota USA
    GF; Logic Studio 9 has really been a good update. They recently released 9.0.2 from 9.0.1, and I'm not sure how far behind the Express version is, perhaps its already released.

    You will have to update your computer to OSX 10.5.8, if you have not already.

    I highly suggest you do a clone of your HD first, then wipe your drive clean and install from the Leopard DVD.

    I know, this is not very appealing since you then have to reload and install all of your software from scratch, but it does clean the whole system which, IMO is a very good thing to do every year or so anyway.

    Some are updating to Snow Leopard, its not recommended though, unless you like being a beta tester and enjoy dealing with issues. Personally I think Snow Leopard is a beta test ground for developing the next OSX to be released by apple, mainly since it is a cheap update ($30) and is coming on all the new machines weather you want it or not.

    9.02 has been proving itself worthy, however I have not explored it nearly enough yet, due to the fact I have a ton of work piled up before the snow flies. So after a month or so I will be spending more time with it, at least I hope.
    jamm 8)
     
  4. Guitarfreak

    Guitarfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Thanks for the feedback guys. Actually, what's funny is that I just did re-install my OS a few days ago lol. I am looking forward to Logic 9. I have done some research and snooping around and it looks like I will be able to have both 8 and 9 installed at the same time, which is pretty cool. Do you know if they made any changes to the included plugs that were in 8? I know the compressors weren't anything special, no matter how you set them you always sort of 'hear' them in one way or another.
     
  5. jammster

    jammster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Ki-Chi-Saga, Minnesota USA
    The only thing you have to be careful with is that there is only one preferences file to be shared between the two.

    Changing one will effect the other.

    I don't know of any changes on the LP8 plugins, but I have read that there is a new zoom function (x1.5, x2) with the LP9 Plugs.

    Also, still no downward compatibility with 8 to 9. Logic 9 sessions will not load into LP8.
     
  6. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    If you are using presets, double check to make sure that auto-gain is not engaged on the compressor.

    8)
     
Similar Threads
  1. pan
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    609
  2. Joe Hayes
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    700
  3. Graceland
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    593
  4. Doc@BeefyTreats.com
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    4,026
  5. riku
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,538
Loading...

Share This Page