Latency varies from cubase to sonar???

Discussion in 'Converters / Interfaces' started by unclejemima, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. unclejemima

    unclejemima Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Hi all, i'm new on this forum. Hope i posted in the right area. I look forward to this great site! :D :D

    I had to reformat (stupid virus!) my computer(PC), so i re-installed cubase sx3. Since then I have been having HUGE latency issues when using VST's.

    Under "device setup" cubase lists my Imput latency at 110.000ms and Output latency at 749.932ms!!! This is BRUTAL. :(

    All my audio drivers and so on are bang on current. Funny thing, i have been thinking about going to Sonar, so i gave it a try. I dont mind it, but i learned on cubase and i will stay with it. BUT when i had both cubase and sonar installed, the SAME vst would run BEAUTIFUL, with very low latency, probably in the low 3-5ms range when using Sonar. Then when i fireup cubase, same VST, HUGE latency.

    Any idea what could cause this? I am using a garbage onboard sound card, this probably does not help, i will upgrade later, but why would sonar run with lower latency than cubase???

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
    God bless,
    -mark :D
     
  2. dementedchord

    dementedchord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    first lose the sound card.. get a real interface... second what happens when you change the buffers manually????
     
  3. unclejemima

    unclejemima Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Thank you for the reply.
    Yes, i know the soundcard is a weakpoint. I am getting an Alesis IO26, running it into my firewire card. Do i still have to upgrade my soundcard if i use the Alesis IO26 to run the audio?

    I have tried adjusting the buffers, with no real success, but i am unsure as of how to properly change them. Any tips?

    Its still weird that Sonar is running it better than cubase?!

    I greatly appreciate any advice,
    Thank you,
    -mark
     
  4. KingSix

    KingSix Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    Alesio OI26 is ASIO compatible? change ASIO source in Cubase to Asio Alesis driver.
     
  5. Plainfaced

    Plainfaced Guest

    I reccomend Sonar 6. Ive been a user since version 3. Yes I suppose I am biased, but hey...
     
  6. dementedchord

    dementedchord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    there should be an adjustment under controll panel for the sound card
     

Share This Page