mini mac for mastering

Discussion in 'Mastering' started by steini_rot, Jan 10, 2012.

Tags:
  1. steini_rot

    steini_rot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    Iceland
    Hey guys
    im redoing my home mastering setup and was pondering if a mini mac would be a clever in a mastering setup. And if there is anyone out there using a mini mac for that kind of work? im kind of new to the mac world so excuse my silly questions
     
  2. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    The questions are not silly. It is current thinking that the new Mac Mini Lion Server especially in the upper category is a very very good machine. It is also a very good purchase price.

    As to mastering, if you are used to PC then why do you think you need to move to Mac for mastering? This isn't a logical way to think other than the difference in cost between a Mini and a PC Audio Labs purpose built. One thing to consider is the native software issue. I know one can run bootcamp etc but that is not ideal. Some programs are cross platform and that is a better option as long as yours is in that category. Just some things to think about.
     
  3. steini_rot

    steini_rot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    Iceland
    well mostly it is because windows is doing all sorts of stuff that has started bothering me and i would like to give mac with wavelab a shot i used to be narrow minded and fixed on windows only but giving mac a shot cant hurt i hope
     
  4. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Give it a shot. Mac itself is not evil despite my disgust with their marketing and the fanatics blind swallowing thereof. You might find it suits you. Just a word. No Windows installation will be truly clean without a clean installation that is not some restore image or disc.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  5. Massive Mastering

    Massive Mastering Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago area, IL, USA
    Home Page:
    There's little reason a MacMini with a good amount of RAM (I think I have 8GB in mine) can't handle a typical mastering scenario. It's not my usual machine (although I've done quite a bit of work on my '06 MacBook), but as soon as Samplitude gets ported to the Mac, it probably will be. I might even reboot it in celebration.

    One nifty part is that you can use a FW or USB interface for I/O and still use the built-in TOSLink for output to your monitoring controller.
     

Share This Page