mistakenly sold my tascam us 122(or 144 i cant remember) but need an interface again

Discussion in 'Converters / Interfaces' started by x666charlie666x, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. x666charlie666x

    x666charlie666x Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    so basically a few months back i sold my tascam us 122 (or 144) as i rarely used it and my laptop was $*^t and was rather impractical as i didnt have a desk so i had to use my bed with a laptop and interface which was rather annoying

    so i bought a new pc which is on a desk (surprisingly enough) and im looking to get into recording again, my pc can handle practically anything you can through at it but it doesnt have a dedicated sound card (only the one on the mobo)

    my budget is around £100 (i will happily go used)

    im looking to record guitar(and bass), vocals and drums (midi)

    so need a couple 1/4 jack inputs, mic inputs and midi input,

    edit - it should be regretfully rather than mistakenly - also i dont mind firewire or usb
     
  2. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    They're kind of all the same at that price point although I am not fond of cheap Tascam. I do recommend using Reaper as your DAW as it runs liked greased lightening on most any computer. If you can stretch up a bit from GBP100 I do recommend the TC Electronic Impact Twin.
     
  3. x666charlie666x

    x666charlie666x Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    they're around £300, over my budget im afraid, is the focusrite sapphire 6 le worth getting?
     
  4. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Likely at least as good as the Tascam.
     
  5. sq1ne

    sq1ne Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    The tascam 144 is dead quiet for me, no background noise and no/low floor noise. The gain on the pre is a bit low but sounds solid, not as open as other quality pres though. Only gripe I have with it is low output (through the headphones) when doing direct monitoring vocals so I guess a separate headphone amp is needed.
     

Share This Page