1. Dear Guest, if you haven't already... enter to WIN Samplitude Pro X5!
    Dismiss Notice

Monitoring Delay Cubase 10 Pro (Live Sound) Sucky Components....HELP!

Discussion in 'Monitoring' started by Travis lee, May 11, 2020.

  1. Travis lee

    Travis lee Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    So I use Cubase 10 pro to livestream our churches services. So the way I have it set up is the board we use (si expression 3) sends signal through usb to cubase 10 on my laptop. It is mixed and then sent to a stereo output back to the board and sent out the board into Boxcast (our streaming provider) The issue I am having is sometimes (not all the time) one of the channels is delayed but the other channels all are fine. The channel that is delayed seems to be random and I have tried everything I can to figure out why it seems to be doing this.
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    You don't say how long the delay is or whether it's always the same length. Is it the same as the delay time through Cubase? Does it change in length if you change the I/O buffer size in Cubase?

    My guess is that it's something to do with bringing the outputs back through the board, and that you sometimes haven't got a completely independent path for that. Could there be an Aux or Bus fader occasionally not zeroed causing cross-coupling?
     
  3. Travis lee

    Travis lee Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    So the delay seems always about the same time, it’s only a few milliseconds but a big enough difference to notice. Such as Sunday our worship leaders voice was being heard just a hair after the band was. But a week ago it was the kick and snare that was off. With the set up i have now I’m running out of Cubase to the 31 and 32 outputs on the si expression 3 and using a mix to send out to the livestream. Sorry if this is confusing.
     
  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    OK, well a diagnostic might be to double the Cubase I/O buffer size and see if the delay quadruples (double on input, double again on output).
     
  5. Travis lee

    Travis lee Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    Ok so the only option through the Soundcraft control panel is an ASIO buffer size. It is set to auto but it does not give me an I/O option. Also the in and out latency are exactly the same. I’ve attached a picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    It's normal that the in and out late cues are the same.

    What happens when you drop down the other options (down-arrow on the right)?
     
  7. Travis lee

    Travis lee Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Location:
    Florida
    The Clock Source? It will not let me. It only gives me the computer option. The buffer size i can go from auto up to 4096
     
  8. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    It's the buffer size that's of interest for this test. Since you don't know easily what Auto sets it to, try a run with it at 1024 and then another at 2048. See if there's any difference between the two, and, if so, the ratio between the two different delays.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice