1. Dear Guest, if you haven't already... enter to WIN Samplitude Pro X4!
    Dismiss Notice

My mastering workflow with Samplitude Pro X4

Discussion in 'Mastering' started by pcrecord, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    Hi gang,

    This is my first attemp at this and I hope it will get many comments and questions.
    I didn't script the dialog and made it not so perfect in hope people will participate.

    Let me know what you think :
     
    Johnny Blade and audiokid like this.
  2. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Very cool. Im such a newb to Sam, all the info you project is news to me!

    I held off on the upgradr initially tho plan to eventually. Im wondering what your general thoughts on v4 is? Automation lanes seem worth it to me... Ive seen some people whining on gs that this feature has been on othet dawz for a while and shpuldnt be a paid upgradr feature. My thinking is samp has had object editing and spectral editing, which most daws havent caught up to yet, so we cant expect everything at once for free. Also some people stated that their old projects werent opening in v4.

    I also love that magix finally consolidated the registration for xara, magix, and vegas ect, so its now all under one account. The old way used to drive me crazy.

    Anyway wondering what your tbpughts on v4 were.
     
  3. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    If you leave the gain match on, will the gain be full volume on export? Ie is the gain match feature on pro l2 just what you hear in the session?
     
  4. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    Honestly, I'm not ready to say if the upgrade is worth it or not.. The automation lanes are nice but since I use a controler, it's not a deal breaker for me..
    The plugin browser is another big change I'm not used to yet.. Good thing, you can set favorites in it and save a few clicks and searching around..

    The gain match fonction of the L2 wasn't activated in this video.. I lowered the master volume before adding it. that's all.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  5. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Nice work!
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  6. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Beautiful !!!!!!!! (y)
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  7. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    This, I need to test, I think the export process will give the same output as we see when the gain match option is on...
     
    kmetal likes this.
  8. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    You da man marco.

    Id test it myself but im still in the process of clearing some space for an acer 6 core/11 rack rig which im gonna use as a mastering pc, and test machine for trying my new software befire installing on my master slave rig, and for testing out the remote acess (web based) recording and mixing idea ive been bathering on about the past couple years.

    Looking forward to more vids!!
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  9. pcrecord

    pcrecord Quality recording seeker ! Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Home Page:
    I've got your answer K
    If you let the 1:1 volume match option in L2, it in facts attenuate the output volume in order to avoid distortions if it was the other way around. So if I export my project and leave the Compensation ON, the file that is produced will be quieter.
    So I guess we should never forget to deactivate it before exporting...
    I usually don't use that feature and just lower my master fader (masterbuss) then I need to reset it to zero before exporting but it's easy to catch it visually on the mixer (and on my controler). But of course human being as I am, I remember a few instances that I needed to export a song a second time because of that mistake... Better not be the entire album ;)
     
  10. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Thats super good to know! Id totally leave it on then wonder why yesterday's mix was so much louder.

    On the other side, it can come in handy when your deep in a mix, and maybe want to adjust some settings as far as limiting, like on a drum bus or whatever, without messing with the balance.

    Great finding this out!!!!!!!!!
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice