Old school / new school

Discussion in 'Microphones & Recording' started by Halifaxsoundguy, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. Halifaxsoundguy

    Halifaxsoundguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    When I was a kid, I used to record the radio on to a cassette tape. How to I record internet audio in my DAW? Is there and internet i/o in logic?
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    You should not have any internet I/O enabled on your DAW for latency and dropout reasons. Keep a separate clunky old PC running Windows98 available with internet connection for the streaming audio job. W98 had a "Wave Out Mix" source option for digitally recording streaming output back into your audio application. This was removed in NT-class operating systems ( NT2000, XP, Vista, W7 etc). A simple application such as "Sound Recorder" is OK for capturing the files, and then you can transfer them to your DAW system by USB memory stick.
     
  3. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    Actually my macs are always connected to the web, so disregard the above PC advice.

    Search for the free Soundflower app it will allow you to route audio into Logic.
     
  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    The bit about not having your DAW connected to the web applies both to PCs and Macs. Although all versions of Windows are particularly bad at starving audio I/O of processor time during network activity, MAC OSX is not a whole lot better, and neither type of system is immune to drop-outs if networking is enabled and active.

    That said, an app like Soundflower sounds like a good thing to try for the purpose of routing streaming audio back into another app.
     
  5. thatjeffguy

    thatjeffguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Vashon Island, Washington
    Home Page:
    Boswell, couldn't disagree more... maybe "in theory" you are correct, but in 10 years operating a commercial studio on Macs, I have always been connected to the internet and have never experienced ANY related problems. In addition, I usually have 4 to 6 other apps open while tracking or editing in Cubase... NO problems. I'm sorry if your experience has been different, but please refrain from painting generalities that do not bear out in experience.

    Jeff
     
  6. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Jeff - I'm glad your experience has been a good one. However, too many of the audio dropout problems we have to deal with on this forum have been due to having TCP/IP stacks running while audio I/O is in progress. The general RO forum advice, which I stand by, is not to mix networking and multi-channel audio I/O, but there will be specific cases where you can get away with it.
     
  7. thatjeffguy

    thatjeffguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Vashon Island, Washington
    Home Page:
    Boswell, thanks for the response.

    In my experience, people who experience audio dropouts are trying to push their hardware too much because they have not kept their equipment up to date. So perhaps yes, if you're running out-of-date, underpowered equipment and trying to push it beyond its limit, you'll have problems.

    But I still hold that to paint your position as a universal truth of audio recording technology is simply misleading, my experience as example. There is no problem having your computer connected to the internet (and I can only speak for the Mac side of computing) while doing audio recording and/or mixing provided you operate a computer that is adequately powered (processors, RAM, hard drives) for the tasks at hand.

    As computer hardware becomes more capable, both operating systems and applications are written with the newest in mind. This requires that one keep updated hardware to keep things operating smoothly. To do otherwise is asking for trouble and leads to the type of work-around blanket statements that you make here, which should be better relegated, perhaps, to troubleshooting tips, e.g. "If you are experiencing audio dropouts, try disabling your internet connection and see if that helps" rather than accepted "rules of the road".

    Jeff
     
  8. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    There was an older version of Logic that was affected by an Airport update, but later updates fixed that issue, and Apple stated that turning Airport off/ on will not affect Logic's performance.
     

Share This Page