Optimum Settings

Discussion in 'Recording' started by jaredbyline, Mar 17, 2003.

Tags:
  1. jaredbyline

    jaredbyline Guest

    I have a pentium III 600 mhz processor, 256 Megs of RAM and a Lexicon Core 2. Can anyone help me with buffer settings and the like. I have no idea what this stuff is, or what it should be set at.
     
  2. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    Jared,
    Click over to the computing forum and talk to OPUS.. He da' Man!! Opus will never steer you wrong. As a matter of fact, I'm just going to move this one over there. You will be in good hands.. .. Kurt
     
  3. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Jared
    What software are you using? This will help me help you in the long run
    One thing to consider is getting another 256MB of ram to help out in the long run.
    What OS are you running. Most likely 98SE huh?
    Let me know
    Opus
     
  4. jaredbyline

    jaredbyline Guest

    I use Cakewalk Pro 9, and Cool Edit 2.0. Cool Edit has huge latency so I use Cakewalk to record, and Cool Edit to mix. Right now I am using Windows ME. I also use my internal sound card for playback, and the Core 2 for record. If I use the card for both my zero latency in cakewalk increases, and Cool Edit just gets worse. Hope that's what you needed.
     
  5. lambchop

    lambchop Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey (right outside the Big Apple!)
    Home Page:
    If you're talking about the Lexicon Core 2, I was under the impression that they only had driver support for up to Win 98SE. That may be your problem. If someone at Lexicon developed some newer drivers let me know.
     
  6. jaredbyline

    jaredbyline Guest

    Their drivers work up to ME. No XP or 2000. The newest driver works with Cakewalks Wavepipe Acceleration.
     
  7. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Ahhh..the wavepipe acceleration! When I was at Sweetwater that always caused more problems with that card then needed!
    Not sure if that's ever been fixed but I would try it without that Wavepipe stuff and see how it treats ya then!

    Opus :D
     
  8. jaredbyline

    jaredbyline Guest

    Everything right now works pretty well. I just wanted to know what the different buffer settings did so maybe I could fine tune it even more.
     
Similar Threads
  1. thedug
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    715
  2. bobbo
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,122
  3. logamos2001
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    847
  4. regs
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,363
  5. LonelyFunk
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    417
Loading...

Share This Page