Potential Home Studio Setup

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Jarci, Oct 28, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    Im looking to get a mac notebook with Intel Core 3 Duo, 1GB DDR2 memory, 120 GB harddrive.

    Is this enough to safely run with MAudio project mix, Pro Tools M-Powered, and reason at the same time??? I will be recording the 8 inputs at the same time.

    Should I get more memory????

    Also on m audio website it says that the Project mix I/o can be expanded to record up to a total of 16 inputs at the same time via 8x8 ADAT Lightpipe I/O. Please someone explain this to me??? will each of the 16 inputs be in there own tracks??????

    All the equimpnet Im going to buy will be used? Is there anything I should ask the seller to do before purchasing it???

    Thanx in advace
    Jarci
     
  2. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    "Should I get more memory????"

    In general, unless you have a silly amount already, are using a 32bit OS, can't find compatible parts, or are exceptionally skint, the answer should always otherwise be yes.
     
  3. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    I don;t know cause i don't have the Mac yet. is 2gb memory enough??
     
  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    If you get an additional 8-channel preamplifer/converter with an ADAT output, you can plug it into the Lightpipe input of the ProjectMix. This gives you a further 8 channels, each with its own track.

    And yes, 2GB memory would be better than 1GB.
     
  5. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    To define my idea of a "silly amount" of memory, I'd put the threshold at 8GB. Anything above that is stupid, unless you're in a server farm or are running an entire LAN party worth of Crysis on the same machine. (GL with that).
     
  6. Jarci

    Jarci Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando
    Home Page:
    thank you Boswell for answering my questions. Im looking over the net for used equipment.

    One more qestion Mac Laptop or iMac....i will be traveling
     
  7. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    "One more qestion Mac Laptop or iMac....i will be traveling."

    Well, there you go then. Laptop. Unless you don't mind carrying a case around and always needing power.
     
  8. TopherNeverDies

    TopherNeverDies Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    I got a macbook and it's a useful little sucker. Haven't had any problems so far and if you're going to be traveling than it'll be very useful.

    Respectfully,
    Christopher
     

Share This Page