Power Cable

Discussion in 'Accessories / Connections' started by ThirdBird, Jul 31, 2009.

Tags:
  1. ThirdBird

    ThirdBird Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Is there any merit to dropping a ton of dough on a power cable, or would any of these cheap ones do....

    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/navigation?q=power+cable



    Thanks!
     
  2. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    IMO you want the heaviest gauge available for power amps. For electronics, you don't need 10 gauge but you don't want flimsy thin either.

    Blah blah blah, it depends on what you are plugging in.
     
  3. ThirdBird

    ThirdBird Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Headphone amp
     
  4. jg49

    jg49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Frozen Tundra of CT
    How could you possibly settle for anything less than this?
    http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=KKPK10PAL

    An $8.00 cable, bah! With the above cable only the most elite electrons will visit your device and the vast improvement in sound will leave you absolutely drooling.
     
  5. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Dare I ask what happened to the original?

    FWIW, I don't think of a headphone amp drawing that much power. Perhaps you could get away with the 4' version that JG linked to.
     
  6. valverec

    valverec Guest

    Yeah, for a headphone amp any old cable will do. I usually like to have thicker gauge cables on my mixers/power camps/computers, but it honestly doesn't matter that much for regular, non tube gear.
     

Share This Page