Power line networking = dirty power?

Discussion in 'Mixing & Song Critique' started by BobRogers, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. BobRogers

    BobRogers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    I've read a few mentions like this about Monster's Powerline Networking. My initial reaction is that it will make my AC power even "dirtier." However, I admit that I have not thought about the amplitudes and frequencies necessary and how the additional signal will affect electrical components. Any comments on this?
     
  2. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Assuming this is ethernet over mains cables, and I'm not being confused by the marketing terminology, I don't like it.

    Cat5 ethernet cable comprises 8 strands but only 2 pairs are used...
    So you're really loading two additional bits of guff onto it.

    You can only realistically use one bit of kit on the circuit (ethernet cables are 1:1 last I looked, not a bus topology) unless diff. manufacturers use diff ways of encoding the data for transmission.

    Doesn't this also mean you could use a well-tuned receiver to pick out and decode the information since it's going over a very large network of wires?
     
  3. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    I don't like it either. The premise is that you plug one box into the wall outlet near your router and feed it an ethernet cable. You plug the other box into the wall next to whatever computer/xbox/ps3/printer etc and connect an ethernet cable between them. This supposedly will pass reliable data between the two points.
     
  4. Codemonkey

    Codemonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    I know a guy who got a set to replace his poor wireless connection, they work. However he's not a home recording enthusiast, he's a pastor.
     
  5. djmukilteo

    djmukilteo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    Rainy Roads WA USA
    This isn't really that new....the principal of using a carrier signal on top of the 60Hz 120VAC branch circuits in your home has been around for many years and was originally designed for home appliance control.
    Of course the smart home was supposed to follow and all of your plug-in devices throughout your home could then be controlled by your computer...never really took off....
    As far as any interference from the modulated signal or carrier are pretty slim as much of that is contained within the 2 wire circuit and doesn't really create much of an antenna effect...if anything the carrier is designed to be several harmonics away from the 60Hz power line frequency...so the only new concept here is the the fact that the low voltage data signal is being converted and modulated onto the carrier than de-modulated at the other end.....that's about it! I would be surprised if they radiate any spurious emissions!

    If you can't route CAT5 or 6 wire around your house for less than $400 then I guess Monster has you covered....novelty electronics are fun and convenient!
     

Share This Page