Recording musicians - Check out the StudioLive Console

Discussion in 'Consoles / Control Surfaces' started by audiokid, Oct 9, 2016.

  1. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    It's possible that you've found this thread because you are a musician, wanting to learn how to record yourself or a band. You are on a budget, you don't fully understand things like converters, preamps, interfacing, compressors etc... and maybe you don't even care about those things right now.

    Perhaps you are thinking, "Right now, my primary goal is to get my musical ideas and performances recorded, as quickly as possible, and with the best quality possible; but without having to be concerned at this time with all the technical details involved in audio engineering. At some point, I may choose to expand my knowledge in the technical aspects of audio recording and mixing, but for right now, I just want to be able to capture my musical performances in the easiest, quickest, and best-sounding way possible."

    As a musician, your focus should be on the music; and you want to be able to capture your performances NOW. The PreSonus StudioLive AR Hybrid console-interface is the perfect audio capture solution for musicians and songwriters.
    Supporting sampling rates up to 96k/24 bit, the AR is easy to set up, and simple to use. It is perfectly suited for the DIY /Project-level musician, who wants (and needs) the speed and ease of "click and go recording". Both Mac and PC support the Presonus StudioLive AR Hybrid, so you can accomplish what you want on virtually any relatively current computer. For the project level musician and composer, there is nothing that this recording setup cannot do. It is feature-rich, and has everything you'll require to record, mix, and process music, but it allows you to do this quickly and easily - and with the outstanding fidelity that PreSonus is known for.

    StudioLive comes with the basic software that will get you started.
    I endorse PreSonus as the number one place recording musicians should look before they start investing in any recording equipment.
    I can't say enough about how great I feel PreSonus is; and their StudioLive AR console and Capture software!


    If this sounds like you, I suggest you start here:
    https://www.presonus.com/products/Capture

    Watch Media Here
    http://www.presonus.com/products/Capture/media


    -audiokid
    Founder and President of recording.org
     
    kmetal and DonnyThompson like this.
  2. Mike Caliri

    Mike Caliri Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Rhode Island USA
    I just got the studio live 16,due to lousy FX,compression and gate on my DP-24 but its fine for just recording. I was out of commission for over a year due to a pinched nerve in my neck,had an operation, OK now getting back into mixing and start playing guitar again.The presonus is so much better,I will upload my mixes soon,I get the stems from cambridge-mt.com for practice.
     
    pcrecord, kmetal and DonnyThompson like this.
  3. Hari Kershaw

    Hari Kershaw Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Is Presonus Studiolive series 3 now a control surface for the daw?
     
  4. dvdhawk

    dvdhawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania, USA
    If it isn't it will be soon. It would require the latest firmware on the console and the latest version of S1. I think it might still be in beta-test mode. Last I heard it was very nearly ready for the public.

    Video Evidence:



     
    kmetal likes this.
  5. Tbozaudio

    Tbozaudio Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Nice Console. Got a chance to review one that a friend mixes on to consider for a total studio rebuild.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  6. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    Late to this thread I realise, (rather than start a new thread) but I just got a Studio Live 16 Series 3. So far I am very impressed. I bought mine just to use the AVB along with a Motu 828ES to join 2 rooms of my studio via only a CAT cable :). I am really considering whether this might replace my UAD Apollo Quad... I know right?. Along with my large collection of Waves and iZotope and other stuff I am pretty much able to emulate close to what the Apollo does. Yet to see how the pre-amps do stack up, but I heard no floor noise with an SM58 earlier or a Fusion F25 on phantom and gain was very nice and a clear sound.

    Oh and I do have a Studio One 5 licence so DAW control would be even better than my X-touch Behringer, fire sale??? LOL.

    Tony
     
    kmetal and audiokid like this.
  7. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Very cool, Tony! Looking forward to hearing more about this.
     
  8. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    @audiokid Could be a few weeks at least before I dive into it. Also switching to PC, I had been intending to go Cubase, but, we'll see... Plus I have to get my head around how I might recoup cost of all that UAD stuff... hmm..
     
    audiokid likes this.
  9. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Did i read that right!? YOU switching to PC!?? Lol.

    UAD is super popular you shouldn't have trouble getting a fair amount back.

    If your switching daws, i can't reccomend samplitude enough. Maybe worth a demo.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  10. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    @kmetal Kyle, trust me when I say, this has not been an easy decision. Until recently I was determined to wear the cost of Apple Tax. As for Samplitude, nope, if I’m doing this it’s because I want a fully compatible easy setup. The Presonus will be on my desk, and the X-touch will be saying goodbye.

    I’ve got a LOT of work to do.
     
  11. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Are you going with a hackintosh or running w10?
     
    audiokid likes this.
  12. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    The Studiolive console and Capture is brilliant. Ideal for musicians and project studios. I think it’s the closest experience to tape and console. Lately I’ve been thinking this is a great alternative to Radar as well.
    I ran a SL32 on my windows box via Firewire 8 and I was very impressed. I used a separate I/o card for that, worked awesome. The new StudioLive series looks amazing. I can understand why you would just stick to Studio One as well. It’s all intertwined.

    I think you are on the right track.

    The preamps are so so and the converters weren’t that great but the trade off would be worth it for many reasons.
    The musician in me likes being able to write music this fast without all the computer stuff getting in my way (I don’t loose critical creativity time).
    Since you are heading back to PC
    Samplitude might be something you look at later. Be sure to enter the Samplitude giveaway, Tony!
     
    Makzimia and kmetal like this.
  13. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    w10 Kyle. With this move I’m basically going for bringing back my Roland VS experience. If I’d gone to the 2480 with a mouse and keyboard. Also, with ARM coming to Apple I am 99.9 % certain they’ll be looking to make hackintoshes a thing of the past. Like I said, looking to really simplify my work flow further.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  14. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Makes sense.
     
  15. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:
    I pulled the trigger on a Scan PC made beast with 14 core Intel unlocked 256GB RAM and lot's of nice features. Being made for me and tuned for audio recording. It's going to be like Xmas around here very soon. Something fun when I've been feeling very tied down... The Studio Live needs some serious desk space.... next to modify my desk.
     
    kmetal, audiokid and pcrecord like this.
  16. Makzimia

    Makzimia The Minstrel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Keighley, England
    Home Page:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice