Samplitude - AUX/Output (Direct)

Discussion in 'Mastering' started by Johnny Blade, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Hello all! A little question:

    When we right click on the AUX slot either in Track Editor or in Object Editor, 3 options appear: AUX/Output (Direct), AUX/Output (Pre) and AUX/Output (Post).

    I know and understand very well about 'Pre' and 'Post', but I don't know what mens 'Direct'...

    What is this? Where it is located in the plugin chain?

    Thanks in advance!
     
    kmetal likes this.
  2. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Not sure. Have you asked this question over at the Samplitude users forum? I'm sure Kraznet could tell you. I think he knows more about Samp/Sequoia than Magix does, (the company who makes the software). Lol...
    I mean, I'm LOLing that statement, but not really. Martin has an amazing amount of knowledge for all things Samplitude and Sequoia.
    There may be a Kraznet video on YouTube that explains it. I know what the D.O. on aconsole is, but not what it might be in the DAW.
     
    Johnny Blade likes this.
  3. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks, Donny! I have all stuff made by Martin, and unfortunately my question wasn't approached in nowhere.

    I turned the samp's manual upside down ... no light ...

    The official Magix forum is a joke, at least for me... I have been tried a lot of times but I cannot be a registered user there. No "e-mail confirmation" was sent to me... never... I did an upgrade from Pro X2 to Pro X3 and I never could be an user there. There is not problem to me, but this is not cool.
     
  4. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Strange... are you talking about the Magix forum or the Samplitude/Sequoia Forum?
     
  5. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Official Samplitude Forum. I think Tim Dolbear is the Admnistrator there.

    In Magix Forum I am a member, but their support is not effective. Recording.Org is much better.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  6. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    After thinking about it last night, my only idea was that it was made to directly output the signal to a hardware effects unit. If that’s what it’s for it would keep workflow seamless whether effects where hardware or software. Maybe it’s to send to a headphone mixer?

    I wish I knew. Have you tried it to see what happens?
     
    Johnny Blade likes this.
  7. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Good answer! And it makes sense!

    However, I did a basic test and nothing special happened... the signal from the track "AUX Direct" continues to pass through the digital chain... maybe I'm doing something wrong... maybe not...

    I will do deeper tests and when I have more accurate results, I will be careful to share here.

    Anyway, it looks like you lit the right light!
     
    kmetal likes this.
  8. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Well, I did another basic test, since I'm not at home. Basic, but more prudent this time around.

    I put a clipper in a slot and then I changed the track properties from default AUX (post) to AUX (direct) and I routed it to a headphone.

    Result: only the signal that goes to the headphone was clipped. :eek:

    Interesting, but I can not understand the usefulness of this result or in what circumstances this possibility would be useful.

    Anyway, I consider my doubt clarified. Nice insight from Kyle! (y)
     
    kmetal likes this.
  9. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:

    Nice work J!

    I could see where maybe something like that could be useful for say parallel efx processing. I’m wondering if it send the signal directly out of the aux, Pre inserts. So maybe if you had a compressor on the insert, you could still route an the unprocessed signal to another compressor or whatever.
     
    Johnny Blade likes this.
  10. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Nice one! Thanks! :)
     
    kmetal likes this.

Share This Page