Samplitude Pro x3 upgrade quandry

vibrations1951

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
I already have Melodyne on my Box 1 DAW FWIW. I don't want to miss the opportunity to upgrade as today is the offer's end. I'm using Samplitude prox2 suite as my Box 2 DAW and I haven't had a lot of experience with it yet. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. $199 is a lot of cash to me right now for the upgrade because my furnace just died and needs a complete replacement! @audiokid
Thanks
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
If given the choice, I think I'd rather stay warm this winter than upgrade to a version of Samp where the upgrades aren't really all that much of a big deal. I guess what I'm saying is that there's nothing that Samplitude 2 or 3 would have that would make my mixes sound any better than me mixing on Pro X 1. Bells and whistles maybe... but nothing that I would consider to be mission-critical.

Besides... you wanna bet that this $199 deal won't be back again in a few months or so? Maybe sooner?

IMHO of course. ;)
 

vibrations1951

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Thanks Donny! Yup, stayin' warm has it's bennies for sure! From everything I could read on Pro x3 there doesn't seem to be any draw for me and I'll bet you are right about future promos. I appreciate the validation. Now it's off to staying warm.........namaste
 

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
if you put off upgrades too long, you will get stuck having to buy a new version at full price at some point. you have to get a new computer every few years, that's just the way it is. with a new computer would come converters and os, daw software. it's never ending.

the DAW software, OS and the computer manufactures have it rigged where you are forced to keep sending them cash. it's not that we have to stay current that bothers me, it's the very apparent collusion between these entities that disturbs me the most.
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
if you put off upgrades too long, you will get stuck having to buy a new version at full price at some point. you have to get a new computer every few years, that's just the way it is. with a new computer would come converters and os, daw software. it's never ending.

the DAW software, OS and the computer manufactures have it rigged where you are forced to keep sending them cash. it's not that we have to stay current that bothers me, it's the very apparent collusion between these entities that disturbs me the most.
+1
Pro Tools /Avid does that best.
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Hey Chris
Just wondering if was worth the upgrade. I'm not gonna do it. Thanks for checking in.
namaste
PS Wood stove is cranking and a new furnace is hopefully on its way. At least it's not 20F below yet!
I just finished staking 5 cords of firewood.
Love wood heat!
 

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
+1
Pro Tools /Avid does that best.

yep! you are correct sir! i lived about 10 miles from the Digidesign / Avid campus and they were just a stones throw from the Apple campus. I had a friend that worked at Apple and he invited me for a visit several times. Every time I was there , there were loads of Digidesign / Avid people there.

They had a plan. First a new computer, 8 months later new software and hardware. another 8 months later, another new computer. and so it went. it's fine for facilities that bill a load of dough but for the small operator it spells financial hardship. what was supposed to be an affordable alternative to LF consoles and tape turned out to be an empty promise. by the time everyone figured it out, it was too late. they had already sold off their consoles and tape machines and now they were stuck.

i know it's how it is. i know i go on and on about it and a lot of people wish i would just shut up. but when you take productive people and price them out of the game, you're going to hear some whining. we don't have anything else to do. we're retired! lol. the straw that breaks the camels back for me is digital doesn't sound any better. i think it actually sounds worse.
 

vibrations1951

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
if you put off upgrades too long, you will get stuck having to buy a new version at full price at some point. you have to get a new computer every few years, that's just the way it is. with a new computer would come converters and os, daw software. it's never ending.

the DAW software, OS and the computer manufactures have it rigged where you are forced to keep sending them cash. it's not that we have to stay current that bothers me, it's the very apparent collusion between these entities that disturbs me the most.
if you put off upgrades too long, you will get stuck having to buy a new version at full price at some point. you have to get a new computer every few years, that's just the way it is. with a new computer would come converters and os, daw software. it's never ending.

the DAW software, OS and the computer manufactures have it rigged where you are forced to keep sending them cash. it's not that we have to stay current that bothers me, it's the very apparent collusion between these entities that disturbs me the most.
I am getting it more all the time and I really hate it! I'm never going to be a big time operator and don't need this sh@#T! I gladly pay up front for quality but not when it doesn't last. I'm getting to the point where I'm ready to stop buying anything digital again and just use what I have. It looks like a tape machine may be in my future!
 

vibrations1951

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
yep! you are correct sir! i lived about 10 miles from the Digidesign / Avid campus and they were just a stones throw from the Apple campus. I had a friend that worked at Apple and he invited me for a visit several times. Every time I was there , there were loads of Digidesign / Avid people there.

They had a plan. First a new computer, 8 months later new software and hardware. another 8 months later, another new computer. and so it went. it's fine for facilities that bill a load of dough but for the small operator it spells financial hardship. what was supposed to be an affordable alternative to LF consoles and tape turned out to be an empty promise. by the time everyone figured it out, it was too late. they had already sold off their consoles and tape machines and now they were stuck.

i know it's how it is. i know i go on and on about it and a lot of people wish i would just shut up. but when you take productive people and price them out of the game, you're going to hear some whining. we don't have anything else to do. we're retired! lol. the straw that breaks the camels back for me is digital doesn't sound any better. i think it actually sounds worse.
Thanks for the rant so I don't have to! But what to do? For me I think I'll just wait until what digital stuff I have dies and build a modest analog solution slowly. I'm sick of it all....and in a very bad mood.....sorry............. namaste
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
To answer the question on updating Samplitude,
The last version of Samplitude and Sequoia (13) is really good. Works beautiful on Windows 10 as well.

I'm updating to Sequoia 14 when it comes out.

But, if it meant sacrificing nice wood heat, I'd be choosing the wood.
 
Top