Samplitude - time stretching multiple tracks

Discussion in 'Mixing & Song Critique' started by thewonders, Nov 13, 2016.

  1. thewonders

    thewonders Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Where they play the West Coast sound
    I'm using Pro X2. I need to increase the speed (but not the pitch) of 13 drum tracks and a couple of guitar tracks. I selected the tracks to change in the Object list (check boxes) and can speed up/shrink the tracks fine in the OE. But once I've selected the tracks, if I click on a different track all of my selected tracks become unselected. Will the tracks hold the time changes (it doesn't sound like they did)? Is it a destructive change? Do I export the selected tracks to new tracks? (Obviously I've not used this feature before). Thanks.
     
  2. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
  3. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    You're not going to do this by track - you're going to do this by Object.

    And It' isn't destructive unless you render the change ( freeze the object).
    (I'm taking your use of the word "destructive" to mean permanent and not able to undo)

    When you select the time stretch in your object editor, you can always return the stretch to "0.00" null if you want to undo it.
     
  4. thewonders

    thewonders Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Where they play the West Coast sound
    re: destructive - yes, that's what I meant.

    But can I Timestretch more than one Object at a time?
     
  5. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Yes, I knew you meant this, same as Donny meant Freeze.

    I don't believe so.

    Just thinking out loud... Donny as well.... would creating a new session with just those tracks needing speed (edits etc), saving/ exporting those, then importing back into your current session do it easier for you?
    There are a few ways to do speed changes, detect beats and fix things in Sam. Maybe creating a new session with just those is the best way to start.
     
  6. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    I don't believe so, TW... but I'm not 100% sure of that; I don't do a whole lot of time stretch or pitch editing of objects, - and - I'm also still using Pro X 1, so this may have changed in newer versions ?.... you may want to visit Samplitude's forum and post this query over there; there are a lot of really smart cats on that forum; anyone I've ever had conversations with via threads have been very helpful and polite.

    http://support2.magix.net/boards/samplitude//index.php?act=idx

    This could work, seems a bit convoluted... my own initial thought/workaround for this would be to select all the objects you want to edit and then glue the objects together .... as long as they are objects on the same track timeline - creating ONE object, and then make your changes (or any other object-based edits you want/you need) to just that one object.

    I'm going to offer some advice here that I think is really important, TW:

    Look for Samp instructional videos on youtube by " Kraznet" ( his real name is Martin), he is a walking bible for Samp and Sequoia; his instructional videos are exceptional... and he's also a very nice and approachable guy, too.
    I can't stress this enough, TW - he saved my bacon - seriously saved it - many times when I had first switched over to Samp Pro X from my old DAW ( Sonar) - and I did the switch smack-dab in the middle of an album project ( damn near killed me, too LOL... note to self... don't ever do that again!!)
    His videos are concise, easy to understand, very well-spoken, with step by step instruction and explanations on - well... on pretty much "everything and anything" Samplitude. I've turned to those videos many, many times to get answers on various Samp subjects. Kraznet doesn't work for Magix ( although I bet Magix wishes that he did... LOL), he's just a really smart guy who has committed himself to knowing the platform inside and out and helping other Samp users.

    (IMPO, based on my own experiences, I think he knows more about the platform than some of the current tech support people of Magix).


    Simply type "Kraznet samplitude instruction videos" into youtube's search window, and you'll see all kinds of his videos come up.*

    *Note: If you do start watching his videos to learn tips and tricks, you may want to revert your menu/layout to version 11 first, because this was the GUI that Samp had when Martin was producing those videos. Changing your menu layout is not at all destructive, still offers the exact same features... nothing bad happens, and it's completely reversable... but it is very helpful when watching his videos, because you'll be able to follow along easier. Later versions of Pro X changed the locations of some key commands, putting them in different places, so newer menu versions makes it hard to follow his instructions... it's easiest if you are following along using the same GUI. ;)

    Here's his explanation on how to do this:



    Hope this helps in some way.

    -donny
     
  7. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Indeed!
    I added his links for us last year, here
    http://recording.org/media/categories/kraznet-samplitude.20/

    I figured having all the tutorials ready to embed into forums would make it a (win win) easier for us to learn about kraznet, embed tutorials directly into Samplitude discussions to discuss in a forum rather than leaving RO , having to go to YouTube and never seeing it again.
     
  8. thewonders

    thewonders Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Where they play the West Coast sound
    Thanks Donny. I did search for a kraznet video that addressed my issue but I couldn't find one that dealt with Objects from multiple tracks.

    re: glue - the Objects are located in 13 different tracks. Would gluing work?

    I was thinking the same thing as Chris - then I would end of up objects that are the required speed and I could import them into a new project. But you're right, it does seem convoluted if I can just modify the Objects withing the current project. I'll try it again tonight and let you know my results. Thanks guys!
     
  9. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Well, the problem with grouping and gluing objects from different tracks, is that your one resulting object would have all the different objects within it at that point... so if you have a track of guitars, a track of piano, a track of vocals, and you glue all those various objects together into a new track/object, it's gonna have all those things summed within it.

    At that point, I think you'd probably be better off doing as Chris suggested - exporting them as new tracks - but IMO, that's gonna be just as time consuming as making your individual changes on each object one at a time inside your current project file.

    IMO of course. ;)
    -d.
     
  10. thewonders

    thewonders Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Where they play the West Coast sound
    All of the Objects involved are drum tracks but you're right, I don't want them all of them summed together.

    After working with it for awhile I found that I could select all of the drum objects, timestretch them and then freeze the objects (as you suggested earlier). It's the freezing that solved my issues - I didn't know how to get the Objects to retain the timestretch setting until you suggested freezing. And I saved a separate project with the drums at the original tempo in case this doesn't work out. So thanks for helping me get this sorted out... it was mainly an issue of my own inexperience with Samp (and the confusion of coming from years of Sonar). :)
     
    kmetal and audiokid like this.
  11. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Good to hear.

    (destructive edit, isn't that a pro tools term as well?) I pretty much freeze everything I know is going in the right direction as I mix along. That is the beauty of why we love object editing.

    I didn't remember we could do a group of tracks like that though... another cool thing reason to love Samplitude. :)

    Cheers!
     
  12. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Here is Kraznet first tutorial on Pro x3. Here he is addressing musical tempo adjustment.

     
    thewonders likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice