Sequoia 14 is out

Discussion in 'Mixing & Song Critique' started by audiokid, May 21, 2017.

  1. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
  2. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    You take the plunge yet? They sold me on the atmos compatibility. I'm waiting until studica has 14 in stock. They have the full education version of sequoia for $1500 with ocassianal discounts beyond that.

    Theirs an immense amount of useful post and broadcasting features I think are going to be super useful. Audio : video : live : broadcast and studio are becoming more and more intertwined, basically one full package.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  3. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Yes, Sequoia 14 is being shipped. I also have Samplitude Pro X 3 Suite coming. I will be blending the two between both DAW's.
    Absolutely.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  4. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Me too. I'm planning sequoia for the main/master computer and my 2 Samplitude licenses for everything else.

    Haven't dived deep into the pro suite 3 yet but the basics of Samplitude are easy and well thought out.

    I love how the program doesn't skip if you add a pluggin during playback. I spent $60 on tutorials by a pro pop mixer, and everytime he added a pluggin his PTHD rig skipped. I think HDx fixed that but.

    Please keep me posted on how they (Sequoia/ Sam) blend, and in particular if there is any discernible differences in the capture quality of the programs and the bussing. I may hold off any analog xfers till Sequoia if that's the case.

    Congrats
     
    audiokid likes this.
  5. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Congrats as well. They will not be any sonic differences between Samplitude Pro X3 and Sequoia 14 at all. The differences are features.
     
    kmetal likes this.
  6. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Just curious what's the weakest computer or device you've run Sequoia on when you had earlier versions? So far I've run Samplitude on a basic w10 tablet, Stereo audio with a handful of plugins.

    I'm wondering how CPU instensive sequoia is relative to sam.
     
  7. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    I've never run Samplitude so I don't know how it compares CPU but I suspect its a bit less effort than Sequoia CPU.

    My laptop, i5 is the weakest and it always has problem after 8 channels tracking so I just use it to track live classical performances which are usually 4 channels.

    I stopped stacking plugs shorty after I discovered Object Editing and have become totally accustom to working that way now. Rendering the object frees' up CPU to where you could use a pretty basic computer and get by. At least I think so.
    My basic layout is the standard channel strips which are always on and a comp on each bus channels. To my experience, the computer is not near as important as the interface is for me. Crap interfacing makes everything suck in my world. But, of course a really good computer is essential for mutitracking and processing too.

    Each year interfacing improves. AES EBU or Madi are the two that have worked best for me. My computers always run like a clock. FW or USB fool you into thinking your computer is the problem.
     
  8. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    I should clarify this... I notice much better CPU performance, when using a "dedicated PCIe port > PCIe card just for the converter interface". The computer runs fast and super tight.
     
    pcrecord likes this.
  9. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    Excellent!!

    You bring some good points up about interfacing. With thunderbolt you can use a pcie chassis and run pcie cards with laptops. With atmos channel counts adding up fast, I can see even playing back being near the max (useful) bandwidth of a USB 2.0.

    The fact that sequoa even runs on an i5 laptop is cool. That's a great sign given how comprehensive a program it is.
     
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice