[SOLVED] Clipping on ZED10 Mixer

Discussion in 'Consoles / Control Surfaces' started by MC208, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    Not knowing the difference between TRS and TS, I just looked it up, and it seems all of my cables are TS (just one black ring), and this includes the male end of the Y-adaptor. Do I need to replace all my cables with TRS instead?
    Unclear on "binding posts" I don't have banana plugs, just the 1/4" cables, the Monster cables running from the amp to the speakers are also TS.
    The main output level switch on the back of the mixer is not pushed in.
    The issue is that when we want to crank up the volume coming out of the Aux output, the mixer clips and cuts out.
    I don't know if I can do main xlr out to the peavey amp because I'm not sure if I have XLR to 1/4" cables...
    Thanks for all this help, I'm learning a lot :)
     
  2. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    According to the specs I read, your DPC 1000 power amp is rated at 500 watts ( each channel) at 4 ohms, and features a mono-bridge switch on the rear, with input 1 (or Left) functioning as the mono signal input.

    Watch your impedance(s) though...

    FWIW
     
  3. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks for the info on the DPC. So with its mono input, then that means I should lose the Y adaptor and just run one cable into that Left input on the DPC, and it will output to both speakers. I know how to watch my back, but I wouldn't know how to watch my impedance (n)
     
  4. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    I'd be a little wary about running the amp in bridge mode with your speakers as they are. What you could do instead is move the Y-adaptor to one of the power amp input sockets. You would then run a single TS jack lead from the mixer's Aux output to one of the sockets on the Y-adaptor and a short jumper TS cable from the other adaptor socket to the second amplifier input. No overall electrical difference from what you are currently doing, but it cuts down on clutter and cabling at the mixer front panel.
     
  5. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ok, I can do that. Going back to cables, where should TRS be used, and where should TS be used in my setup?
     
  6. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    From what you have told us so far, your AUX connections out of the mixer are either unbalanced or pseudo-balanced, so you can use TS cables. The mixer main outputs to the camera should be via a pair of XLR-XLR cables. Your mixer microphone inputs will be balanced and must also use XLR-XLR cables. Since (oddly) the jack output of your tube pre-amp is unbalanced, you can use a TS cable from there to a line input jack on the mixer. So, no TRS jack cables needed.
     
  7. dvdhawk

    dvdhawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania, USA
    Nope. Slow down. That's not quite right.

    Since it only has a single ¼" TRS input on each amp channel, you would do much better to follow Boswell's advice. Plug the Y-adaptor into Peavey's CH A and then connect your Aux signal from the ZED into one female of the Y, then use a short ¼" jumper from the remaining female on the Y to the CH B input of the Peavey. Result: mono input, both amp channels driven with same Aux signal.

    Peavey's Bridged-Mono Mode doesn't just bridge the input jacks, as you are describing. On this amp it doesn't bridge the inputs at all, it changes the format of the amp completely. Result: mono input, CH A amplifying the positive portion to the output, CH B amplifying the negative portion of the output. <to over-simplify it)

    I don't recommend Bridged-Mono, but your amp is capable. Two reasons I don't recommend it, especially in this case - 1) So many things to go and to do wrong 2) It usually degrades the sound noticeably.

    If you decide you must try it, make sure the amp is OFF before you engage the mono switch and make the connections.
    Disconnect your ¼" speaker cables.
    You will need to either use a banana plug, or very carefully use bare wire to the TOP two Red bindings post, connecting the Positive to CH A Out and the Negative to CH B Out.
    Plug your ¼" from the Mixer's Aux into Input A of the Peavey,
    CH A's "Sensitivity" knob is the only one that will function. Turn it down all the way.
    Now, after you've inspected everything and made sure you don't have any shorts between the speaker outs, and everything else is kosher - you can safely turn the amp ON and ease up the volume / sensitivity.


    Boswell's method will work. Failing that, I'd much rather see you use just one half of the stereo amp to drive one or both speakers. Two 8Ω Ramsas chained together will result in a 4Ω load and work on one amp channel if you absolutely need two speakers to monitor one guy playing jazz guitar.

    The amp's manual gives specs for balanced TRS inputs only, but also shows it's capable of plugging synths (which are normally low-level unbalanced TS) straight into it. So who knows how comprehensive the Peavey manual is?

    I'm sorry if it seems like I'm hounding you, but when you say, "The issue is that when we want to crank up the volume coming out of the Aux output, the mixer clips and cuts out." Clips what? Where? The ZED meters? The Peavey "Signal" LEDs? (I've always hated the Peavey DDT circuitry) The meters look cool, but audio is distorted?

    There's a mismatch somewhere, we're just trying to figure out where.
     
  8. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yes, the ZED meters go way up and clip well before they should. I just got around to changing the hookups from the Aux out of the ZED to the back of the Peavey, hopefully get a chance to test today. See the attached picture of the back of the amp. Let me know if this looks right based on your suggestion. Also, should the level knobs on the back of the amp be turned all the way to max? I've also changed the guitar from the HiZ to the second channel which is line (MIC is in the first channel)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    You guys are good!!!! Check out the attached picture and notice where the main Aux level is and where the meters are. I've got all the volume I could want and nowhere near clipping. Sound is *crystal* clear too. Problem solved! The only problem I have now and I don't know if it's a problem or just normal, but I have to turn the input levels on the XLR inputs on the camcorder up pretty high to get a decent signal level going into the camcorder. But that's not too big of a deal.. Anyways, thank you for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sean G

    Sean G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thats what makes RO great...its members who unselfishly give their time and knowledge to help others...(y)

    A true problem based learning forum :D
     
    Makzimia likes this.
  11. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    Coming back to this thread, I may need to record guitar and MP3 on separate channels (left and right) Am I correct to assume that the best way to do this would be to just pan full left for one instrument, and pan full right for the other? Microphone I guess will be on the same channel as the MP3 player?

    One other question is about the RODE NTG-1 microphone. I'm guessing there probably isn't a way around this, but I find it annoying that the mic picks up more than just the voice. It picks up the pick hitting the guitar strings which isn't the most pleasant sound in the world.
     
  12. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Can you refresh our minds about what you are wanting to achieve?

    Is the MP3 a stereo source, pre-recorded? If so, could you arrange things so you listen to the MP3 on headphones while singing and playing guitar (recording these two sources on L and R channels) and then add the MP3 back in separately when mixing? It would mean having a simple sync process so the MP3 could be easily lined up in time for mixing, but that's not too difficult.
     
  13. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    No headphones because this is a video production, and because the subject doesn't want to wear headphones.
    The source of the MP3, it's actually MIDI, being played through a tablet, so yes it's pre-recorded.
    I'm wanting to have the guitar and the mp3 on separate channels as it gets recorded in the camcorder (onto the memory card) So that when I open the video in video editing software, guitar and pre-recorded music are separated which will allow me to mix better in post production. It's difficult to do in live production because of hearing the aux mix that goes to the speakers. That, and the headphone audio from the camcorder isn't all that great... So rather than take a chance and have a bad mix when I go to edit, I Think it would be better just to have them on separate channels
     
  14. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    You don't need the MP3 track in stereo, then?
     
  15. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    No, don't need stereo sound for MP3 track
     
  16. MC208

    MC208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    I did some tests this weekend and was able to pan the channels left and right and it worked well in the video editing software with separation of the channels.
    The only thing I need to decide now is which channel to put the microphone on. I think it should go on the guitar channel considering that the mic picks up the guitar in addition to the voice.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice