SoundDiver 3

Discussion in 'Microphones (live or studio)' started by mjones4th, Dec 12, 2003.

Tags:
  1. mjones4th

    mjones4th Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Hi All,

    Just got this in the mail this week from Emagic. I love it already. I hear others talk about it being buggy, but I haven't experienced it yet.

    Anyway, this program really opens up my JV-1000. I mean I look at it now in the same light as I would a softsynth, total editability, total recall with the associated song, and ease of use! Frickin A!

    Anyone care to comment on this program, the way they use it, etc.?

    I made 4 or 5 patches within 4 hours of receiving the CD, without a manual even! I did the best bass guitar I have ever heard from my JV, a nice bellsy string pad, and a sweeeeet background french horn patch! any onther JV-80/90/1000/1010/1080, etc. users here? I'd be glad to exchange patches.

    Also the rep said that the OS X version is in beta, but they can't announce it due to Apple's 30 day policy on product announcements. I can't wait!!!

    mitz
     
  2. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    Now that ReCycle is an OSX ready beta, Sound Diver is the last app I need to complete my OSX transition.

    Problem is that I've been using all soft-synths lately, only fired up my midi hardware once this summer, to get at my Alesis D4 drum module.

    Would be nice if Sound Diver worked with soft-synths.

    :cool:
     
  3. mjones4th

    mjones4th Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Why, when softsynths have their own built in editors and patch storage systems?

    The way I view SD is as an extension of Logic that lets me treat hardware synths like their software equivalents. and with Input objects in Logic to allow streaming, we're one step closer.

    What I would like to see is closer integration between SD and Logic, so that hardware synths can be treated much in the same way as soft synths.

    Just imagine this: create a 'synth instrument' object in the environment and select <your favorite synth here>, channel 1. Select a patch, tweak it, record the midi sequence, tweak some more, add some AU effects because the audio from the synth is of course streaming directly in to the object in the environment. Save the song, Open it back up and boom, total recall! No need to bounce audio in, no need to record sysex dumps...
     
  4. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    I just think it would be easier with a consistant interface.

    And I would be able to generate banks of patches, from two existing presets, that is the function that I have yet to see in a soft-synth with that feature.

    Because keys are not my primary instrument, I may never purchase a hardware synth again.

    :cool:
     
  5. Mario-C.

    Mario-C. Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Home Page:
    i looove sound diver, without it i'd be lost and in knob tweaking hell
     
  6. Wilber

    Wilber Guest

    No doubt, Id rather tweak soft synths in SD too!

    Well, FM7 is pretty cool, but most could be exploited further with SD wicked interface.
     
  7. Michael Scott

    Michael Scott Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Home Page:
    Helps out with the POD also. I use sounddiver with my POD and really, it;s the only way to open up the possibilites within the POD.

    Didn't know there was an update though...maybe not for the POD.
     
  8. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    You have to have an XSKey to activate the beta. :cool:
     
  9. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    OOps double post :cool:
     

Share This Page