1. Dear Guest, if you haven't already... enter to WIN Samplitude Pro X4!
    Dismiss Notice

Strange Melodyne sync problem

Discussion in 'Mixing & Song Critique' started by BobRogers, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. BobRogers

    BobRogers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    I have a song with two vocal tracks to which I have applied Melodyne (Editor). Playing the particular vocal parts everything seemed fine. However, if I play the song from the beginning the vocals are delay by about .1 sec. Bypass Meodyne and everything is fine. I've even spotted it down to a particular time: start after 10.86 sec into the song and everything is fine (even with Melodyne not bypassed) . Start before 10.86 sec and I get a delay. Very strange.

    This is a very simple song. Shaker, Djembe, Bass, 2 Acoustic guitars, Electric guitar, 2 vocal tracks, Vocal bus, Reverb bus, Master bus. I don't see anything at 10.86 sec that could have triggered this.

    Update: Windows 7 (64bit), i7 2.8GHz, PT 9.0.0, Melodyne Editor 1.2.0 (32 bit) RTAS

    I have saved, closed, shut down, restarted, reopened, etc.
     
  2. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    North Vancouver
    Yes I get this with Nuendo 3.0 too, this only happens after I reopen the software. I print the the track before I exit the first session, then bring that track back into the mix and delete melodyne plug. Its a work around, but I have not found a cure yet.
     
  3. BobRogers

    BobRogers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    That's what I ended up doing since I wanted to get this done - basically bouncing the "Melodyned" track down. I just made the other tracks inactive since I sent a message to Celemony support and I'd like to find out what is really wrong. Not a great time to expect a quick reply. But if they come up with something I will report back.
     
  4. BobRogers

    BobRogers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Celemony tech support got back to me yesterday. Pretty good response time over the holiday. Their response was that this sounded like a problem with a tempo change. The song had not been recorded to a click track and I hadn't (purposely) made any tempo changes. But of course, I view the tempo bar and there is a change that I accidentally put in. (Don't you hate it when you push some half-remembered key combination and "nothing" happens. You know you must have done something, but it's not clear what.) I had already "fixed" my problem with the workaround above, but I deleted the tempo changes anyway just in case I worked over the track in the future.

    Just in case anyone needs the info later, I'll post his directions for working with tempo changes in Melodyne.

    I got this information by Celemony support in January 2011. It's related to Melodyne editor version 1.2.

     
  5. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    North Vancouver
    Cool thanks Bob!
     
  6. Big K

    Big K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Munich / Germany
    Home Page:
    Thanks, Bob, for charing ..
    The second part was also quite new for me.
    Brillant!

    Thanks Nils !!
    See ya, for a cool Mass Bier at the Hirschgarten...lol...
     
  • AT5047

    The New AT5047 Premier Studio Microphone Purity Transformed

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice