Studio UPS's

Discussion in 'Recording' started by sturoc, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. sturoc

    sturoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado USA
    Good Morning,
    Wondering what are good and or great UPS units for studio?
    The power here at The Ranch is a little dirty and does go out on occasion. We have a good size back-up gennie that powers the whole property But the switching takes a sec or two and almost always the casual use PC's go into restart or stay shut down after power gets back up, it doesn't happen often but looms on our minds as we rebuild the studio.
    All gear: DAW, Rack gear, Instruments etc running thru Furman Pl Plus'

    Of course this is not good when a session is taking place or during any stage of operation.
     
  2. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    There are lots of break-free UPS units available. You have to make an assessment of overall power level you need for your studio (then double it) before you can start to make any sort of UPS choice. Battery capacity is not a problem, as all you require is cover for the few seconds duration of the power gap or the time before your aux generator gets under way.
     
  3. soundfarm1

    soundfarm1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    I have always gone with APC, but recently have had good experiences with cyberpower (which is a bit lower price point). APC certainly has more options, though, especially if you want to deploy a centralized solution.
     
  4. TheJackAttack

    TheJackAttack Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    currently Billings
    Good pro audio ups units aren't cheap. I use primarily Furman on critocal pieces and various Cyberpower and APC on non critical gear. All are rackmounted. The primary consideration is clean filtered power. Secondary is rackmount capability and tertiary is that the batteries are user replacable. UPS batteries life span is 3-6 years. I cycle batteries usually at four years or if the ups has been smoked.

    Note: most consumer ups units don't filter power for noise etc. That just isn't a consideration for home users. Server class UPS units tend to be better about this.
     
  5. sturoc

    sturoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado USA
    We have everything running thru Furmans so the emi / rf filtering is being dealt with at that point.
    Oddly enough the area we are next to US Gov land -a radio transmission free zone believe it or not!
    Main goal is to have a seamless transfer when landline power goes out.
     
  6. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    North Vancouver
    We use APC, Furman and Libert (Now emerson).
    http://www.emersonnetworkpower.com/en-US/Products/ACPower/Pages/default.aspx
     

Share This Page