Sychronization :(

Discussion in 'Microphones & Recording' started by Halifaxsoundguy, May 20, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Halifaxsoundguy

    Halifaxsoundguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    I'm startingf an ambitious project in pro-tools with my old Boss BR-8 (Roland). Using a midi cable I am tring to slave pro-tools to the BR-8. I have had luck in getting the Br-8's transport to control the transprt in Pro-Tools. The big problem is that there is a playback speed difference with both systems. Pro-tools runs faster even though both tempos are the same. Does anyone have any tips for doing this in pro-tools? I have information flowing, but its appears to 'breakdown' when it hits pro-tools.

    Here's what a BR-8 is:
    http://www.bosscorp.co.jp/en/BR-8/

    Thanx,

    Mark
     
  2. TVPostSound

    TVPostSound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Sample rate??

    Midi Time Code rate??


    Do they match?
     
  3. Halifaxsoundguy

    Halifaxsoundguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    I'm using MTC at 30 ndf. Sample rate of 44.1. Things are not syncing up. I notice that the time on the br-8 will read hours, minutes, seconds then frames but the frames will be a decimal like 29.98 but pro-tools only shows time used, so an example would be 1:24.333 one minute twenty four seconds, but now theres a 3 point decimal wheras the other unit is divided to frames. This has me pulling hair.
     
  4. TVPostSound

    TVPostSound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Yes, Protools LE wont show timecode without DVToolkit, but the settings in Protools do match the settings (MTC and Sample rate) on your BR-8?

    Also verify Protools isnt set for pull up/ pull down in session setup??
     

Share This Page