Tascam / Teac in Montebello Closed

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by DonnyThompson, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Teac has closed their Montebello, CA location.

    They've been there for years.

    I don't think that they are folding up or anything, but it sure looks like they are certainly downsizing, which can also be a pretty bad word, too.

    I wonder how many of us here got our start on Teac/Tascam gear...
     
  2. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    http://www.reuters.com/finance/stocks/6803.T/key-developments/article/2804925

    It appears as if they have become more of a holding company for various smaller companies in the past few years.

    They definitely made some mistakes in the recent past, with products like Giga Studio -= which never worked properly and had little to no support, and to add insult to injury, they discontinued the product and all connected support for it just two years after releasing and selling the product, leaving many people who had bought the product out in the cold.

    Another of their big mistakes was the DA Series of Digital Multi Track Modular decks, which required servicing and a complete transport overhaul at 600 hours of transport time... and it wasn't cheap, either.

    Teac was sold to Gibson last year, so who knows what the future holds at this point.
     
  3. RemyRAD

    RemyRAD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    They're moving to China with everyone else. It's too expensive in Montebello. That way, they can keep a better handle on quality control, if those Chinese slave children build them fast enough.

    Let's face it.... even Ampex, were selling Japanese sewing machines. In their final days. I mean recorders, ATR-700. It was made by TEAC for Ampex.

    I think only sushi is made in Japan now?
    Mx. Remy Ann David
     
  4. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    I've had a fair amount of Tascam. My intro to multitrack was the 144 and 244 portastudios.
     
  5. dvdhawk

    dvdhawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania, USA
    Same here. I had them both and still have the 244 around here somewhere.
     
  6. thatjeffguy

    thatjeffguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Vashon Island, Washington
    Home Page:
    I've had pretty good luck with my Tascam stuff. I've been using their mixing boards in my studio for over a decade... first with their DM-24 model and now with the DM-3200. Never any problems with either other than replacing the LCD screen on the 24, which was a known and common issue. Easily and inexpensively resolved by purchasing replacement direct from Tascam and installing myself following detailed instructions posted on the web by other Tascam users.
    I used to own a DA-88 back in the day, but didn't own it long enough to have any of the transport problems that Donny mentioned. I also own a Tascam DAT recorder and a Tascam Dual Cassette machine, neither of which see much use anymore!
    Jeff
     
  7. kmetal

    kmetal Kyle P. Gushue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Home Page:
    i still go my 424, my first recorder. gotta wonder how manyy famous riffs and songs have been demo recorded on tascam suff.
     
Similar Threads
  1. therecordingart
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,288
  2. Kundalini
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,839
  3. iamfrobs
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,664
  4. Robert G
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    308
  5. DonnyThompson
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    375
Loading...

Share This Page