Thunderbolt for PC

Discussion in 'Computing' started by audiokid, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    If you've read a few recent posts of mine, I'm really interested in emulation. Apollo 16's would be the perfect product for my next challenge. I need 32 DA's and two Apollo's 16 cascaded would do it! But, there now seems to be a glitch in my method of madness. I'm on PC and prefer MADI for this.
    Without writing a book and where I'm going, if I use the Apollo 16, it looks like a Thunderbolt connection is kind of essential to keep the latency where I need it.

    Have any of you read, heard about Thunderbolt for PC? I'm just starting to research this so any input would be appreciated,

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8529/idf-2014-where-is-thunderbolt-headed
    http://www.extremetech.com/computing/181099-next-gen-thunderbolt-details-40gbps-pcie-3-0-hdmi-2-0-and-100w-power-delivery-for-single-cable-pcs

    Thanks
     
  2. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    I'm not familiar enough with the format to comment. I did do a quick search and found a few Thunderbolt PCIe Cards - apparently they work as long as you have an open PCIe slot in your computer - but as to their compatibility, function, or their efficiency, I have no idea.

    http://www.amazon.com/HP-THUNDERBOLT-2-PCIE-1-PORT-CARD/dp/B00IOXWLXO/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1415959359&sr=8-4&keywords=thunderbolt pcie card
     
  3. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    According to a friend of mine, who has experience with UAD... and I quote:

    "He really needs to check with UAD for makes of compatible Thunderbolt cards. UAD can be damn fussy about Firewire, and they could very well be the same way with Thunderbolt cards."

    I don't know if this helps... seems like pretty good advice to me, though. ;)
     
  4. Makzimia

    Makzimia Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    Home Page:
    I hate to say it, but, good luck.... Not seen much, if any movement. And it could be like the old HAVE to have a texas instruments chip to rely on that firewire connect.. hassles.
     
  5. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    I'm brain storming here.
    Bos, do you see where I'm going with this? Apollo 16 like an outboard processor(s). Are there any ways to connect these to my Orion32 so I can take advantage of the plug-ins OTB? I have no intent to track or monitor with them.
     
  6. Makzimia

    Makzimia Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    Home Page:
    I can answer this, Apollo 16 needs the software interface to work to the best of my knowledge, it is one reason the Orion trumps it as a OTB. I know it makes it sounds like I am a total negative on it, I wanted to love the idea of it, it's potential is amazing. I hope you find and can share a solution for those who do want to go that way, if possible.
     
  7. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
  8. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Thanks Donny and Tony, I have Texas Instr FW. It worked excellent for FF800 when I used them. But I need FW 800, which I don't have either.
    TB looks like its premature for PC. hmm..

    I'm not familiar with UAD, but I want something that I can use their plugins as a stand alone. It still may work OTb with FW because at that point I'm not using the DAW to round trip. I wouldn't be worried about latency either, but, I'm still using the converters to process the plugs.
     
  9. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Looks like these guys are doing it the same as I am just cluing into, lol. http://uadforum.com/apollo-interfaces/16211-apollo-vs-antelope-orion.html

    http://www.sonicscoop.com/2013/05/01/review-antelope-orion-32-a-mixers-perspective/
     
  10. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    After posting your query on another recording forum that I belong to, here is more advice I received from a PC/Audio savvy guy I know :

    "He needs to call UAD to confirm - I believe you want a card with the Intel DSL5320 Chipset.
    That is the Version 2 of Thunderbolt. I've heard from other studio guys that the HP card
    is to be avoided - the ASUS is the one to get."


    FWIW
     
  11. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Yikes, I'm working long hours, I can't even recall posting about this on another forum, what forum?
     
  12. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    You didn't. I did. I asked your question to the gang over at The OtherOther Place. You visited there for a short time awhile ago.
     
  13. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
  14. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    UAD Apollo TB for Windows is a little premature at this point.

    People are using TB motherboards on Windows, with the FW800 drivers.
    UAD processing travels at TB speed, audio is limited to FW800 speed.
    The same was true for Macs connected via TB until last April when UA released TB PCIE drivers, and firmware.
    Checkout the UAD Apollo forum.

    UA supports two Apollo 16s cascaded, appears as one big system in the Consle app.
    Download the Apollo manual

    UA announced Apollo Expanded at NAMN, it will be Mac only on initial release.

    Check their site for details.
     
  15. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    Looks like PCAudioLabs has a few machines running Windows with Thunderbolt.http://pcaudiolabs.com/rok-box-mc-8x/
     
  16. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    77 Sunset Lane.
    starting @ $2500 for the mc M8 laptop
     
  17. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    Checkout this video interview with the Windows 10 program manager for MIDI and Audio, he does bring up the TB issues, and future plans.


    They discuss TB around the 41 minute mark.
     
    audiokid likes this.
  18. audiokid

    audiokid Chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Home Page:
    midi is looking good!
     
    gdoubleyou likes this.

Share This Page