Two preamps in serial??

Discussion in 'Preamps / Channel Strips' started by Twood, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. Twood

    Twood Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Location:
    Norway
    Home Page:
    I am planning to do a live recording. I was thinking to use the line output on the FOH mixer. But I was wondering, should I go directly to my converter or should I go through some of my preamps as well?.. I have 6 good preamps (API and Green river). Or will this degrade the sound? (I think the FOH mixer is a Allen&Heat 48chn)

    I know I would be better to split the signals before they reach the FOH mixer. But I dont have that option..

    How would you do it?
     
  2. bent

    bent No Bad Vibes! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Cocoa, FL
    Home Page:
    Direct to the converter.

    The signal from the board's output will be too hot for the preamps.
     
  3. Twood

    Twood Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Location:
    Norway
    Home Page:
    What if I use the line inputs on my preamps?. Will the signal still be too hot?
     
  4. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    North Vancouver
    No but why introduce more noise?
     
  5. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Nice preamps. You could take 6 mic channels through those and then split two ways: to the converter and to line inputs on the A&H board. Allow the less important mics to go into the A&H, and for those channels use the channel direct outs straight into your converter.
     
  6. Groff

    Groff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Cro
    Wouldn't that change the impedance (preamp out) and degrade the sound quality? :roll:
     
  7. Cucco

    Cucco Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Depends on how you do the split.

    Y cable - yes.
    Patchbay normalled - yes
    Isolated (transformer) - no

    However, in none of these cases would I worry since the output impedance of any of these pres is <_edit_> LOW </_edit_ >enough to not worry about a cut. Split 3 or 4 ways...maybe. But then that would just be insane, wouldn't it?

    Me personally - I would go for the easy route seeing as how there's not a chance on earth anyone would ever be able to tell the difference in a final recorded project between an A&H Pre and an API when recording off of FOH. (Perhaps if the performer were Peter Gabriel or Sting...maybe.)
     
  8. bent

    bent No Bad Vibes! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Cocoa, FL
    Home Page:
    No, but then you're just throwing another circuit in the path.

    Kinda redundant.
     
  9. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Just curious, why those two?

    With my suggested scheme, the A&H pre-amps would not be in the recording circuit of the first 6 channels, and so Twood could choose a sonic flavour for each channel according to the sound source and the type of mic used. Having said that, the A&H desks I have used (GL2800s) have all have clean pre-amps with good headroom, so the case for using boutique pre-amps is a lot lower than it would have been with, say, a Peavey or a Phonic mixer.

    I think you meant to say "the output impedance of any of these pres is low enough..."

    By the way, it's a myth that transformer splits do not impose loads on the source. The actual load will be reflected back through the transformer as the square of the turns ratio, so 1:1:1 split transformers will act in loading terms as though the two loads were in parallel and the transformer not there.
     
  10. Cucco

    Cucco Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Why which two?
    Peter Gabriel and Sting?
    A&H and API
    or Y Cable and patchbay

    Yes - that's exactly what I meant - thank you. I'll edit my previous - thanks.

    I did not know that - thanks. Now I do.
     
  11. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Peter Gabriel and Sting. Perhaps there is some special sonic quality to their voices that has passed me by?
     
  12. Cucco

    Cucco Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Nope...think more on the production value of the show, not the performers themselves.
     
  13. Cucco

    Cucco Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Nope...think more on the production value of the show, not the performers themselves.
     
  14. Boswell

    Boswell Moderator Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    Home Page:
    Oh, right. I'll listen more closely next time I'm having coffee in Starbucks.
     
  15. Cucco

    Cucco Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    LOL...
     

Share This Page