Waveforms are not right when I have recorded

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Ferry0123, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. Ferry0123

    Ferry0123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    Hello,


    Hope you can help me out. I record in Logic (using a MOTU Ultralite audio interface), but looking at the waveforms, I record too loud. It's driving me nuts.


    In Logic I have the volume way below 0dB when I record guitar/bass/vocs. The waveforms look like big black blocks.


    Is it because of Logic or the soundcard?


    Please help!

    Ferry
     
  2. DonnyThompson

    DonnyThompson Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Akron/Cleveland, OH
    Home Page:
    Let's forget for just a moment how the file looks ... does it sound ok? Is it distorted?

    what pre amp/audio I/O are you using to record with?
     
  3. MrEase

    MrEase Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    West Suss ex, UK
    This means your signal is too hot within the soundcard. If you have gain controls on your soundcard you need to reduce them to stop the A-D converter hitting the limits. Either this or turn down your source.

    Logic (or any other software) cannot directly affect the recording levels unless it can access the soundcard. Once the signal is digitised turning down the volume only makes the distorted signal quieter but cannot remove the problem.

    Hope that helps!
     
  4. Ferry0123

    Ferry0123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    Hey guys, thanks for replying.

    I think I know what's 'wrong'. In the arrange, at the bottom to the right, (to the left of the slider), I accidentally must have clicked the waveform, which makes all recorded waveforms at least 3 times as big as they really are.

    Ferry
     
  5. gdoubleyou

    gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Location:
    Kirkland WA
    Home Page:
    Logic uses 64bit internal processing, so unless you induce distortion at the input, logic will not distort.

    Use your interface or it's control panel app to control input level.

    Careful with the waveform size slider.
     

Share This Page